Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Newly finished HT room, but no surround out from 7.2


  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 of 6 OFFLINE   sunk318

sunk318

    Auditioning



  • 3 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 05 2013
  • Real Name:Sun Kim

Posted August 05 2013 - 08:20 AM

Hi all,

 

I have just finished building my HT room with all the wires running correctly.

 

I have Onkyo TX-SR605 (7.2) receiver with 7.1 sound system.

 

2 front

1 center

2 surround

2 surround back.

 

I have my computer and ps3 hooked up through HDMI.

 

I set up my sound using set-up mic that came with the receiver. When it measures the sound, each speaker works perfectly. 

 

I also have my computer and ps3 in 7.1 surround mode when connected to HDMI. Using computer(laptop), I tested out each speakers and the surround outputs the sound the way they are supposed to.

 

However, when I play movies or bluerays, I only get sound from 2.1. 

 

The only time I have all 7.1 speakers play is when I choose "All Stereo/Mono Mode" from the receiver.

 

 

I believe all the speakers are wired correctly and they are capable of producing sound. But I just do not get the surround I need to get!

 

I am so frustrated, if you can help on this I would certainly appreciate it.

 

Best,

 

Sun



#2 of 6 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert



  • 15,668 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted August 05 2013 - 09:24 AM

What soundmodes do you get to choose?

#3 of 6 OFFLINE   sunk318

sunk318

    Auditioning



  • 3 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 05 2013
  • Real Name:Sun Kim

Posted August 05 2013 - 11:04 AM

What soundmodes do you get to choose?

 

I get most of all the sound modes but no Dolby Pro Logic IIx. I had that option at one point but it disappeared upon restart.

 

http://www.intl.onky...05_manual_e.pdf

 

All the sound modes listed in pg 66.



#4 of 6 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert



  • 15,668 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted August 05 2013 - 12:08 PM

I meant, based on your speaker settings, what sound modes is the AVR allowing you to cycle through?Or are you just pushing the sound mode button once?

#5 of 6 OFFLINE   sunk318

sunk318

    Auditioning



  • 3 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 05 2013
  • Real Name:Sun Kim

Posted August 05 2013 - 01:09 PM

I meant, based on your speaker settings, what sound modes is the AVR allowing you to cycle through?Or are you just pushing the sound mode button once?

I am not quite sure if I understand your question right, but when I calibrated my surround sound system, all 7.1 worked.

 

e.g. only left surround back makes noise when it is signaled to do so and such..



#6 of 6 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert



  • 15,668 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted August 05 2013 - 01:31 PM

When you play something, what, when you press the sound mode button repeatedly...do you get?




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users