Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.


Photo
- - - - -

Will Blu Ray work on this old tv?


  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 of 16 OFFLINE   jjs

jjs

    Auditioning



  • 6 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 05 2013
  • Real Name:james

Posted August 05 2013 - 07:25 AM

I have an old Mitsubishi 46" projection television - model Wt-46807. Because it's old, it has no hdmi.

 

I just inherited a Samsung BLue Ray player - model BD-D5100. Samsung tells me that is should work with the Mitsu tv by connecting it with compent cables. As it turns out, the player I inherited is broken and out of warranty. I have located a refurbished model for $50, but before I buy that model I have 2 questions:

 

1)  Is Samsung correct in that thhe BD-D5100 will work on my old tv via component cables?

 

2)  Are there any other Blu Ray players from other manufacturers that will work with component cables ?

 

Thanks in advance.

JJS

 

 



#2 of 16 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert



  • 16,342 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted August 05 2013 - 07:54 AM

Does this Mits have a DVI?

#3 of 16 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert



  • 16,342 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted August 05 2013 - 07:58 AM

And if it doesn't have DVI. No, there are no current BD players with component because of Analog Sunset (google it).You have to buy a used player prior to "being new" January 2013.

#4 of 16 OFFLINE   jjs

jjs

    Auditioning



  • 6 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 05 2013
  • Real Name:james

Posted August 05 2013 - 07:59 AM

it has "high resolution input" - that I have my comcast cable box plugged into with component cables, but no dvi input



#5 of 16 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert



  • 16,342 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted August 05 2013 - 08:03 AM

Does this high resolution look, sorta, like VGA?

#6 of 16 OFFLINE   jjs

jjs

    Auditioning



  • 6 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 05 2013
  • Real Name:james

Posted August 05 2013 - 08:08 AM

no - under the "high resolution Input" section there is  a component section and a DTV section



#7 of 16 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert



  • 16,342 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted August 05 2013 - 08:52 AM

Take a pic of the DTV.

#8 of 16 OFFLINE   jjs

jjs

    Auditioning



  • 6 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 05 2013
  • Real Name:james

Posted August 05 2013 - 03:41 PM

[

 

here ya go

 

attachment=3559:mitsu inputs.jpg]

Attached Thumbnails

  • mitsu inputs.jpg


#9 of 16 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert



  • 16,342 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted August 05 2013 - 03:48 PM

I forgot to come back and tell you I found a review of the set from 2000.

 

Yep, no DVI.

 

No you cannot buy a new BD player. I would suggest a Panasonic DMP BD35(or a 55 or 85...depending if you want any "smart" features) because Panny sold a crap ton of them...they are plentiful used(check Ebay) and I would not hesitate telling you to buy a used Panny BD player.

 

Same thing with Sony (BDP S350...I forget how "that years" number progression went...maybe 450 and 550? again if you want "smart" features).

 

Stay away from used Samsung. LG and Sharp won't be plentiful enough used to "be as inexpensive" as Sony and Panny.



#10 of 16 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert



  • 16,342 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted August 05 2013 - 03:58 PM

By the way, the reason I chose the Panny X5(35/55/65/85) and Sony X50(350...etc) is because...

 

They are from the first year of profile 2.0 (BD live)....so...

 

They are "current", minus widespread WiFi, and there really is nothing a "newer model year" in Panny or Sony to really warrant not buying one from the first year of BD live...other than costing you twice to three times as much for essentially the same thing.



#11 of 16 OFFLINE   jjs

jjs

    Auditioning



  • 6 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 05 2013
  • Real Name:james

Posted August 05 2013 - 04:15 PM

as you can tell, I'm not very bright about this stuff - what is BD live?

 

and, just to verify - the models you mention can be hooked up with component cables - right?

do you happen to know if they have an ethernet port?


Edited by jjs, August 05 2013 - 04:19 PM.


#12 of 16 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert



  • 16,342 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted August 05 2013 - 04:24 PM

BD live means BD profile 2.(profile 2 has more than "just live"...but BD live was the big one)

 

All profile 2 BD players are updated via the internet. So, yes...you connect an ethernet.

 

And BD live turned into a yawner...unless you buy a bunch of Disney discs and you have <12yo's in the house.



#13 of 16 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert



  • 16,342 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted August 05 2013 - 04:27 PM

And oh yeah...

 

"the models you mention can be hooked up with component cables - right?"

 

Component output on BD players disappeared this year. There was this "government vs BDA" thing about DRM.

 

BDA said "we won't allow 1080P" home use unless we can control it(DRM).

The government said "not everybody with a HD TV has HDMI".

 

Their "compromise" was the Analog Sunset. (this year)



#14 of 16 OFFLINE   jjs

jjs

    Auditioning



  • 6 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 05 2013
  • Real Name:james

Posted August 05 2013 - 04:30 PM

I greatly appreciate all the replies - I don't care about knew - I just want to be able to connect with component cables and get netflix



#15 of 16 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert



  • 16,342 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted August 05 2013 - 04:53 PM

The BD35 and Sony S350 don't have smart features. You'll have to get the DMP BD65 or 85...Forget the Sony model numbers.



#16 of 16 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert



  • 16,342 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted August 05 2013 - 04:55 PM

Here's one...

 

http://www.ebay.com/...=item1c354ded3d (there are a bunch of them to choose from)






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users