Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Stand-by Mode on Sony FD Trinitron WEGA KV-30HS510

Hardware

  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 of 9 OFFLINE   jimdc58

jimdc58

    Agent



  • 26 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 26 2006

Posted July 30 2013 - 07:15 AM

Recently, I have had an issue where, when I go to turn on my Sony FD Trinitron WEGA KV-30HS510 via the remote, it acts like it going to turn on, but then goes into "stand-by" mode. If I hit the power button on the remote one more time, it then comes on.

 

I have tried:

 

1. Unplugging the set, leaving is set a few minutes, and plugging it back in.

 

2. Using the reset button on the remote, along with the power button on the set, to reset the TV to factory settings.

 

I'm not sure just what is happening. It plays fine once it is on.

 

I do know that one night recently, I hit a wrong button on the remote while using it in the dark. However, I don't see anything on the remote that indicates there is a "stand-by" mode that can be set.

 

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.



#2 of 9 OFFLINE   jimdc58

jimdc58

    Agent



  • 26 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 26 2006

Posted August 04 2013 - 02:20 PM

Did I place this question in the wrong category?



#3 of 9 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert



  • 14,458 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted August 04 2013 - 02:44 PM

Maybe there is no answer. My best guess is one of the caps on the power supply is bulged and about to pop.

 

If you are good with a screwdriver you can unplug the TV for about 2-3 days, wait for the juice to die out of it...and remove the back and see if any of the caps are bulging(you can internet search "bulging capacitor" and probably even include Sony Trinitron and see pics of what one looks like).



#4 of 9 OFFLINE   jimdc58

jimdc58

    Agent



  • 26 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 26 2006

Posted August 17 2013 - 03:23 PM

schan1269....thanks for the answer. I'm sorry I am late in responding, as I had somewhat given up on checking the forum for a reply.

 

Is it okay to just keep playing it, since the only issue is that I have to hit the "power" button twice? (And, by the way, if the television has been on in the last hour or so, and I try turning it on again, it comes right on!)



#5 of 9 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert



  • 14,458 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted August 17 2013 - 03:53 PM

That does sound like bulging caps. When caps fail, they lose initial charge.

#6 of 9 OFFLINE   jimdc58

jimdc58

    Agent



  • 26 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 26 2006

Posted August 18 2013 - 03:54 PM

Is there any danger in just playing it until it fails? I don't plan on putting any more money into this TV.



#7 of 9 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert



  • 14,458 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted August 18 2013 - 04:04 PM

Unless you fix the power supply....one day it just won't turn on.



#8 of 9 OFFLINE   jimdc58

jimdc58

    Agent



  • 26 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 26 2006

Posted August 18 2013 - 04:35 PM

Thanks schan1269......you've been very helpful! Take care.



#9 of 9 OFFLINE   Gregg Loewen

Gregg Loewen

    Video Standards Instructor, THX Ltd.



  • 6,333 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 09 1999
  • Real Name:Gregg Loewen
  • LocationNew England

Posted August 22 2013 - 06:38 AM

I would try replacing the remote.


The Sonodome - circa 2001
The Newest Sonotube - circa 2001
Gregg's DVDs updated...sometimes
Lion Audio Video Consultants usually current






Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: Hardware

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users