What's new

hdmi cable connections (1 Viewer)

twilightflyerr

Auditioning
Real Name
Ray Bull
72 yr old newbie here asking for help.
Just got me one of those new tv's LG42LN540V and I want to connect up my Sky+ box also my DVD player.
The tv has 2 hdmi sockets and the other two has 1 hdmi connector. Can anyone please tell me what goes where and how, much appreciation in advance.

Steve Tannehill

R.I.P - 4.28.2015
Senior HTF Member
Deceased Member
Real Name
Steve Tannehill
Welcome to HTF!I'm away from my computer so I can't check your TV manual just yet. I take it that between the Sky+ box and the DVD player, there is only one HDMI output? But the TV has two HDMI inputs?

Sgt Pepper

Supporting Actor
Real Name
Barry
I am sure your DVD player has only a scart connection. I would maybe consider a more up to date option with HDMI. :)

Steve Tannehill

R.I.P - 4.28.2015
Senior HTF Member
Deceased Member
Real Name
Steve Tannehill
Hi Ray, I'm back. Your TV has only one HDMI input, but it also has a SCART input. If your SKY+ box has HDMI out, you would connect it to the HDMI in of your TV with an HDMI cable.

As for your DVD player, I suspect it has a SCART output as stated above. That being the case, you would simply connect it to the TV's SCART input with a SCART cable. Not sure about where the audio goes on the TV, but there is an audio input, and you probably use that (with the usual red/white stereo audio cables). Unless you connect your audio to a receiver for sound. But you did not mention a receiver.

Edit: I see that there is a second HDMI input on the side of your TV, so if you get a DVD/blu-ray player with HDMI, you could connect it there.

Hope this helps!

twilightflyerr

Auditioning
Real Name
Ray Bull
Steve Tannehill said:
Hi Ray, I'm back. Your TV has only one HDMI input, but it also has a SCART input. If your SKY+ box has HDMI out, you would connect it to the HDMI in of your TV with an HDMI cable.