Jump to content



Sign up for a free account!

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and you won't get the popup ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Samsung 6400 Series Smart TV


Best Answer Walt H , July 06 2013 - 06:15 AM

Problem solved.  It was a bad HDMI cable.  Thanks for all your help.

Go to the full post


  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 of 7 Walt H

Walt H

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 209 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 05 2000

Posted July 04 2013 - 05:24 PM

I have a 6400 series Samsung Smart TV connected to a settop cable box via HDMI and also connected to a Yamaha RX-A820 A/V Receiver. All connections are HDMI. In the TV menu>sound>digital audio out the Dolby Digital and DTS options are not available only PCM and DTS Neo:2.5 are available. I have the newest HDMI cables which I thought is supposed to carry the Dolby Digital signal as well has High Def video. Why are the Dolby Digital and DTS options greyed out and not available?



#2 of 7 schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert

  • 12,906 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted July 04 2013 - 08:37 PM

Broadcast doesn't support DTS.

 

But is the STB connected to the AVR first, then the TV...or...

 

To the TV then the audio to the AVR?



#3 of 7 Walt H

Walt H

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 209 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 05 2000

Posted July 05 2013 - 06:16 PM

I have the HDMI cable coming from the STB to the AVR and HDMI OUT from the AVR to the TV.



#4 of 7 schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert

  • 12,906 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted July 05 2013 - 06:21 PM

So, what sound are you having problems with?

 

STB sound?

Smart feature sound from the TV?



#5 of 7 Walt H

Walt H

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 209 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 05 2000

Posted July 05 2013 - 06:49 PM

The receiver sound is indicating PCM rather than Dolby Digital.



#6 of 7 schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert

  • 12,906 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted July 05 2013 - 07:54 PM

The receiver sound is indicating PCM rather than Dolby Digital.

From what?

 

TV via Smart features?

The STB?

 

What?



#7 of 7 Walt H

Walt H

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 209 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 05 2000

Posted July 06 2013 - 06:15 AM   Best Answer

Problem solved.  It was a bad HDMI cable.  Thanks for all your help.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users