Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.


Photo
- - - - -

Shocked but surprising and very funny thing on Argo

Warner

  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 of 10 OFFLINE   EnricoE

EnricoE

    Supporting Actor



  • 518 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 13 2003

Posted June 21 2013 - 08:29 PM

when inserted argo into the player and pressed play, i was shocked. i mean really shocked and after the shock i  yelled "ben you crazy bastard, thank you!" :wub: ^_^

 

what the hell happened you may ask... well, for the first time in years i saw the good old 70's warner bros logo when movie started.

 

it's funny and sad that this might be the only chance we'll see the old warner logo in hd. damn you warner for putting the new logo on all your old movies :angry:

 

btw, it's great movie too ;)



#2 of 10 OFFLINE   Dick

Dick

    Producer



  • 4,622 posts
  • Join Date: May 22 1999
  • Real Name:Rick

Posted June 21 2013 - 08:37 PM

Nope - MAGIC MIKE's got it, too.



#3 of 10 OFFLINE   Lord Dalek

Lord Dalek

    Screenwriter



  • 2,330 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 04 2005

Posted June 21 2013 - 08:57 PM

And so does every Dirty Harry that used it.



#4 of 10 OFFLINE   JohnMor

JohnMor

    Producer



  • 3,919 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 06 2004
  • Real Name:John Moreland
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA

Posted June 21 2013 - 09:03 PM

And so does the blu-ray of Streisand's A STAR IS BORN

Edited by JohnMor, June 21 2013 - 09:03 PM.


#5 of 10 OFFLINE   Ejanss

Ejanss

    Screenwriter



  • 2,452 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 23 2012

Posted June 21 2013 - 09:57 PM

And so does every Dirty Harry that used it.

 

Yeah but that WAS the logo, in its day.

 

We're talking about the new ones that brought it back, for movies historically period-set in the 70's.  Ben, you crazy bastard.   :B) 



#6 of 10 OFFLINE   JohnMor

JohnMor

    Producer



  • 3,919 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 06 2004
  • Real Name:John Moreland
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA

Posted June 21 2013 - 11:47 PM

Yeah but that WAS the logo, in its day.
 
We're talking about the new ones that brought it back, for movies historically period-set in the 70's.  Ben, you crazy bastard.   :B)

That's not quite what the initial post sounded like... 
 

it's funny and sad that this might be the only chance we'll see the old warner logo in hd. damn you warner for putting the new logo on all your old movies :angry:



#7 of 10 OFFLINE   EnricoE

EnricoE

    Supporting Actor



  • 518 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 13 2003

Posted June 22 2013 - 12:54 PM

i wasn't aware that a handful of "old" movies had the original logo. for me it was the first time to see it on blu-ray/hd-dvd.



#8 of 10 OFFLINE   Mark-P

Mark-P

    Screenwriter



  • 2,661 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 26 2005
  • Real Name:Mark Probst
  • LocationCamas, WA

Posted June 22 2013 - 01:00 PM

This, from IMBD

 

In order to make the movie feel like the 1970s, Ben Affleck shot it on regular film, cut the frames in half, and blew those images up 200% to increase their graininess. He also copied camera movements and bustling office scenes from All the President's Men for sequences depicting CIA headquarters; for L.A. exteriors, he borrowed from The Killing of a Chinese Bookie

Edited by Mark-P, June 22 2013 - 01:01 PM.


#9 of 10 OFFLINE   nikonf5

nikonf5

    Agent



  • 40 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 03 2008
  • Real Name:Mian

Posted June 24 2013 - 05:34 AM

How do you cut film in half ?

 

More than likely, the sequences in question were shot on Super 8 and Super 16 and printed onto regular 35mm stock.



#10 of 10 OFFLINE   Lord Dalek

Lord Dalek

    Screenwriter



  • 2,330 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 04 2005

Posted June 24 2013 - 06:48 AM

How do you cut film in half ?More than likely, the sequences in question were shot on Super 8 and Super 16 and printed onto regular 35mm stock.

I heard they basically used Techniscope for the Iran stuff.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users