Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.


Photo
- - - - -

Pink hue on tv with receiver


Best Answer schan1269, May 18 2013 - 05:43 PM

HDCP

Handshake

 

Welcome to HDMI. When you add in ANY new HDMI device. You have to re-establish handshake. Period.

 

Everybody who doesn't follow "turn everything off, unplug everything from the wall, connect everything back together, then plug it in the wall...then turn it all on" has problems with HDCP.

Go to the full post


  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 of 13 OFFLINE   AlphaPie

AlphaPie

    Agent



  • 39 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 04 2012

Posted May 18 2013 - 04:12 PM

A google search says my receiver is dying or I have some sort of handshake issue. I bought my receiver 48 hours ago. Turned it on and there was a heavy pink tint on tv. Checked all plugins and all was good there. Had to turn off and back on receiver to get a clear picture. Sure hope my $500 receiver can last longer and 3 days... Any thoughts?Running ps3 to denon 1913 to toshiba tv via hdmi

#2 of 13 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert



  • 15,759 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted May 18 2013 - 05:34 PM

Did you unhook and unplug everything from the wall?

 

If not, yep you have handshake issues. The OM for the 1913 should say that everything is to be unhooked and unplugged from the wall prior to connecting any HDMI/analog/digital audio.



#3 of 13 OFFLINE   AlphaPie

AlphaPie

    Agent



  • 39 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 04 2012

Posted May 18 2013 - 05:39 PM

Did you unhook and unplug everything from the wall? If not, yep you have handshake issues. The OM for the 1913 should say that everything is to be unhooked and unplugged from the wall prior to connecting any HDMI/analog/digital audio.

I don't recall. I know the receiver was unplugged from the wall when I plugged everything else in to it. If I do unhook everything from the wall, will I lose the calibration and settings I have on my receiver now? This is a common issue and wouldn't be resolved by exchanging this receiver with a new one?

#4 of 13 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert



  • 15,759 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted May 18 2013 - 05:43 PM   Best Answer

HDCP

Handshake

 

Welcome to HDMI. When you add in ANY new HDMI device. You have to re-establish handshake. Period.

 

Everybody who doesn't follow "turn everything off, unplug everything from the wall, connect everything back together, then plug it in the wall...then turn it all on" has problems with HDCP.



#5 of 13 OFFLINE   AlphaPie

AlphaPie

    Agent



  • 39 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 04 2012

Posted May 18 2013 - 08:52 PM

Thanks for the help. This is the most useful and knowledgable forum I've joined.

#6 of 13 OFFLINE   pazzy_1978

pazzy_1978

    Auditioning



  • 5 posts
  • Join Date: May 14 2013
  • Real Name:Dan
  • Locationbarcelona

Posted May 21 2013 - 12:55 AM

Very usefull info indeed, so to get proper handshake "synced" you need to unplug everything ??? even from electricity source ?



#7 of 13 OFFLINE   tuffluck

tuffluck

    Auditioning



  • 10 posts
  • Join Date: May 10 2013
  • Real Name:Evan

Posted June 11 2013 - 02:13 PM

Sorry to revive an old post, but I am having the same problem.  I have a Panny ST60, Denon 1713, Time Warner Motorola DCX3400, and Sony 5100.  The only time I get a pink screen is when I turn on the unit about once every 3-4 days to watch Cable.  I've never gotten the pink screen through the BD player.  I've switched inputs for the Motorola on the Denon and a few days later get the pink screen again.  Usually when I cycle off the AVR or the cable box only, the problem doesn't go away.  If I shut off the TV only, when turned back on it is not pink.  If I shut everything off, when turned back on it is not pink.  This made me believe the TV is the culprit.  The problem is so intermittent it's hard to troubleshoot.

 

I read this post and unplugged everything from the wall and plugged it all back in.  I had previously (since before the last pink screen) unplugged some cables from the surge protector to reroute wiring, but can't be certain that the Motorola, Denon, and Panny were all unplugged simultaneously to correct any handshake issues.  I didn't reseat any HDMI connections though after unplugging from the wall; should I? 

 

I'm wondering if there is a way to expedite the troubleshooting process since tomorrow is technically the last day I can get an exchange on the TV (assuming the TV is actually the problem).  Thanks for any help.


Edited by tuffluck, June 11 2013 - 02:17 PM.


#8 of 13 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert



  • 15,759 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted June 11 2013 - 02:31 PM

Pink hue, if just a cable box, is typically because the TV isn't liking the native resolution from the cable box...

 

Remedies(either...or both)

 

Turn off native resolution(so it picks "something" and sticks to it)

Set your resolutions on only the P(480P, 720P and 1080P...de-select 480i and 1080i)



#9 of 13 OFFLINE   tuffluck

tuffluck

    Auditioning



  • 10 posts
  • Join Date: May 10 2013
  • Real Name:Evan

Posted June 11 2013 - 02:52 PM

Pink hue, if just a cable box, is typically because the TV isn't liking the native resolution from the cable box...

 

Remedies(either...or both)

 

Turn off native resolution(so it picks "something" and sticks to it)

Set your resolutions on only the P(480P, 720P and 1080P...de-select 480i and 1080i)

 

Just checked and the cable had 1080i selected and 480i for 4:3.  I changed it to 720p and 480p respectively, though the fact that *something* other than "native" was set, it seems to me this may not be the culprit?



#10 of 13 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert



  • 15,759 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted June 11 2013 - 03:10 PM

Well broadcast is either...480i720P1080iIf your TV isn't liking the "i", you have to set the cable box to 480P and/or 720P.

#11 of 13 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert



  • 15,759 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted June 11 2013 - 03:13 PM

By the way, cable and telephone line are both inferior to satellite and OTA. Ergo...TV today like a robust signal. So feeding a TV an inferior "i" to produce 1080P...creates weirdness.

#12 of 13 OFFLINE   tuffluck

tuffluck

    Auditioning



  • 10 posts
  • Join Date: May 10 2013
  • Real Name:Evan

Posted June 11 2013 - 03:40 PM

Well broadcast is either...480i720P1080iIf your TV isn't liking the "i", you have to set the cable box to 480P and/or 720P.

I had it connected to another TV this way and never had the purple screen. For that matter the ARR is also new, so I'm really not sure how to figure out which is at fault in the system.

#13 of 13 OFFLINE   tuffluck

tuffluck

    Auditioning



  • 10 posts
  • Join Date: May 10 2013
  • Real Name:Evan

Posted June 11 2013 - 06:27 PM

Anyone else?




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users