-

Jump to content



Sign up for a free account!

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and you won't get the popup ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Ps3 decoding to receiver


  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1 of 23 AlphaPie

AlphaPie

    Agent

  • 39 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 04 2012

Posted May 18 2013 - 12:05 PM

So I've set my play station 3 to bitstream from linear PCM which now has the receiver claiming its running dts-hd master (for this particular movie). My question is, is my ps3 decoding or processing the audio at all or is it sending it to my receiver to decode and process, like I want it to? I just want the best audio I can get out of the ps3 and receiver (denon 1913).

#2 of 23 schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert

  • 13,160 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted May 18 2013 - 12:08 PM

The only difference between your "source"(in your case the PS3) doing the decoding...vs the AVR doing the decoding...

 

The AVR gets to turn on a bunch of cool lights.



#3 of 23 schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert

  • 13,160 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted May 18 2013 - 12:10 PM

By the way, here is a good reference for what is going on here...

 

A. Assuming you have a player that can decode lossless audio...

B. Assuming you have an AVR that can decode lossless audio...

 

http://www.amazon.co...handled saw log



#4 of 23 AlphaPie

AlphaPie

    Agent

  • 39 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 04 2012

Posted May 18 2013 - 12:23 PM

By the way, here is a good reference for what is going on here...

A. Assuming you have a player that can decode lossless audio...
B. Assuming you have an AVR that can decode lossless audio...

http://www.amazon.co...handled saw log

I fail to see the reference to a 2 man saw.. Both devices are doing the same thing with the same quality?

Edited by AlphaPie, May 18 2013 - 12:26 PM.


#5 of 23 schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert

  • 13,160 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted May 18 2013 - 01:31 PM

Two man saw....

 

There is one job...

 

You can either be on the left side doing the job...or on the right side doing the job.

 

Either way...the job is done. 

 

But in reference to a PS3 vs a mid range Denon doing the decoding...it is probably a tie.

 

IF this were an Oppo...I'd let the Oppo do it. If this were a PS3 and a AVR4520, the 4520 would be doing it. If I had both the Oppo and 4520...it would be a draw.



#6 of 23 Phil A

Phil A

    Screenwriter

  • 2,757 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 01 2000
  • Real Name:Phil
  • LocationCentral FL

Posted May 19 2013 - 06:15 AM

Which PS3 model?  The original fat ones had a chip which would only decode in the PS3.



#7 of 23 AlphaPie

AlphaPie

    Agent

  • 39 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 04 2012

Posted May 19 2013 - 02:44 PM

Which PS3 model?  The original fat ones had a chip which would only decode in the PS3.


I'm not sure I'm out of town at the moment it's not flat.

#8 of 23 Phil A

Phil A

    Screenwriter

  • 2,757 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 01 2000
  • Real Name:Phil
  • LocationCentral FL

Posted May 19 2013 - 02:47 PM

Here's some more info - http://forums.highde...olbytruehd.html



#9 of 23 Phil A

Phil A

    Screenwriter

  • 2,757 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 01 2000
  • Real Name:Phil
  • LocationCentral FL

Posted May 19 2013 - 02:48 PM

And here's a picture of both models with the older PS3 fat at the bottom - http://www.google.co...Q9QEwDw&dur=574



#10 of 23 Phil A

Phil A

    Screenwriter

  • 2,757 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 01 2000
  • Real Name:Phil
  • LocationCentral FL

Posted May 19 2013 - 02:51 PM

It was a function of the older chip set that did things that way.  There are things that the older one can do, especially if the firmware is version 3.55 or less, which is many moons ago and currently (it is being worked on/tried) there is no way to roll firmware back on the units.



#11 of 23 AlphaPie

AlphaPie

    Agent

  • 39 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 04 2012

Posted May 19 2013 - 04:27 PM

I have the top ps3 in that picture, so the newer one. I'd get a dedicated bluray player but from what I've looked at to get any really performance increase past the ps3 id have to pay $500+

#12 of 23 Phil A

Phil A

    Screenwriter

  • 2,757 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 01 2000
  • Real Name:Phil
  • LocationCentral FL

Posted May 19 2013 - 04:58 PM

I have the top ps3 in that picture, so the newer one. I'd get a dedicated bluray player but from what I've looked at to get any really performance increase past the ps3 id have to pay $500+

I have not seen the PS3 slim in action other than in stores.  I can tell you that the video quality of the PS3 model I have is nothing special.  The machine does a lot of things vs. other hardware you can buy, but it doesn't impress me as a Blu-Ray player.  Yes, something like an Oppo costs $500.  It does not play games but has other features (and I guess value depends on whether you have use for them).  When I decided to swap the Oppo BDP-93 from the bedroom system to the basement system (where I had the PS3 as I started using the basement more for HT and I only watch about 10-15 movies/year in the bedroom system), I was shocked by the difference in video quality.



#13 of 23 AlphaPie

AlphaPie

    Agent

  • 39 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 04 2012

Posted May 19 2013 - 05:12 PM

I have not seen the PS3 slim in action other than in stores. I can tell you that the video quality of the PS3 model I have is nothing special. The machine does a lot of things vs. other hardware you can buy, but it doesn't impress me as a Blu-Ray player. Yes, something like an Oppo costs $500. It does not play games but has other features (and I guess value depends on whether you have use for them). When I decided to swap the Oppo BDP-93 from the bedroom system to the basement system (where I had the PS3 as I started using the basement more for HT and I only watch about 10-15 movies/year in the bedroom system), I was shocked by the difference in video quality.


We haven't used it for games in years. Just blu rays and Netflix/Hulu. Can you give me a few suggestions for a starting point $300 and bellow?

Edited by AlphaPie, May 19 2013 - 05:13 PM.


#14 of 23 Phil A

Phil A

    Screenwriter

  • 2,757 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 01 2000
  • Real Name:Phil
  • LocationCentral FL

Posted May 19 2013 - 07:22 PM

We haven't used it for games in years. Just blu rays and Netflix/Hulu. Can you give me a few suggestions for a starting point $300 and bellow?

I'd look here - http://www.hometheat...rs-reviews.html  They generally do good reviews.  I like Oppo players but they are more than $300 and they do things that some may not need or want like SACD or DVD-A.  I have not followed Netflix players but thought at one point the PS3 was capable of getting surround sound.  I am not sure how many do that.  Many Blu-Ray players can do Netflix and Hulu.  I am not in the market at the moment for a new player (moving in under a year) so I have not looked.  I had the opportunity to hear (but not see) the Oppo 105 on audio (it was hooked up to an audio only system) and it is quite good as an SACD player and a DAC at its price point, though not cheap,  Oppo tends to be geared towards the person into video but also into audio.  



#15 of 23 schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert

  • 13,160 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted May 19 2013 - 09:20 PM

You don't have to spend $300 to get a good BD player.

<$200 is where BD playback and some net/streaming lives.

The only reason to step into $300+ is if you need either...

Region free and/or SACD/DVD-A.

And yes I know there are those with Lexicon that have done nothing but play BD with it...

#16 of 23 AlphaPie

AlphaPie

    Agent

  • 39 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 04 2012

Posted May 20 2013 - 06:07 AM

Just to clarify, when my ps3 is set to linear PCM and my receiver says multi channel in I'm getting pretty much 5 speaker stereo. Ps3 set to bitstream and my receiver says dts-HD ma I'm getting an actual 5.1 surround experience?

#17 of 23 FoxyMulder

FoxyMulder

    映画ファン

  • 4,397 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 14 2009
  • Real Name:Malcolm
  • LocationScotland

Posted May 20 2013 - 06:16 AM

You don't have to spend $300 to get a good BD player.

<$200 is where BD playback and some net/streaming lives.

The only reason to step into $300+ is if you need either...

Region free and/or SACD/DVD-A.

And yes I know there are those with Lexicon that have done nothing but play BD with it...

 

Of course as you already know the Lexicon is just a re-badged Oppo.


     :Fun Movie Quotes:

"A good body with a dull brain is as cheap as life itself"   

"Maybe it's a sheep dog... let's keep going" 

"Please doctor, I've got to ask this. It sounds like, well, just as though you're describing some form of super carrot"

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 


#18 of 23 schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert

  • 13,160 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted May 20 2013 - 06:19 AM

If your PS3 is set(I don't own one, just guessing from the "setup" of every other DVD/BD player I've ever had) up to decode, yes you are getting the same 5.1.

 

IF, like some DVD/BD players there is "audio setup" beyond just "decoding lossless"(and I assume there is since it does playback SACD)...you have to also tell it how many speakers you got. So you also(I'm guessing, cause I don't have one) have to tell the PS3 there is a subwoofer involved.

 

But, once proper setup in the PS3(whatever it entails) and your AVR1913 are done...

 

lossless via the PS3=Lossless via AVR1913



#19 of 23 schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert

  • 13,160 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted May 20 2013 - 06:21 AM

Of course as you already know the Lexicon is just a re-badged Oppo.

Yes I know that. Although there is a difference...output stage, more robust connections...something. (no I don't remember what exactly)

 

But yes it is 99% nothing more than the Oppo.



#20 of 23 AlphaPie

AlphaPie

    Agent

  • 39 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 04 2012

Posted May 20 2013 - 06:36 AM

I wonder if I choose to tell the ps3 to do my decoding can my avr still use its dynamic volume and dynamic eq since its not really in control.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users