Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests to win things like this Logitech Harmony Ultimate Remote and you won't get the popup ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

A few words about...™ The Vampire Lovers -- in Blu-ray

A Few Words About

• You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 of 10 Robert Harris

Robert Harris

Archivist

• 7,322 posts

Posted May 05 2013 - 04:09 PM

Everyone loves lesbians.

Most everyone loves vampires.

Using Sheridan Le Fanu's (1814-1873) Carmilla as a basis, Hammer Films, Fantale Films and American-International, created The Vampire Lovers.

What could possibly be better than lesbian vampires?

The new Blu-ray from Scream Factory does justice to the film in a general sense.  I'm not an expert on either Hammer or Vampire Lovers.  I saw it when it arrived in the early '70s, and have no memory of what it looked like.

The film is a melange of original photography, what appears to be a bit of stock footage from other films, and various generations of dupes.  The end result is a decent quality affair.  A bit of minus density dirt (which could have been removed -- I'm thinking Olive here), but beyond that a very solid image for what is essentially a low-budget B product, that has taken a place in cinema history.

Nothing shocking here.  A post Woodstock, gothic tale of vampirism, based upon a solid piece of literature, and a perfectly acceptable Blu-ray experience.

Image - 3.5

Audio - 4

Recommended.

RAH

• Bryan^H and cannon1 like this

"All men dream: but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act their dreams with open eyes, to make it possible. This I did." T.E. Lawrence

#2 of 10 Bryan^H

Bryan^H

Screenwriter

• 2,578 posts

Posted May 05 2013 - 05:36 PM