Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

yht 298


  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 of 11 OFFLINE   0337_v

0337_v

    Auditioning



  • 6 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 07 2013
  • Real Name:Usman Vali

Posted April 07 2013 - 10:43 AM

Hi All, New to this site as I am having problems with my yht 298 I am not getting any sound from my unit I have a LG 42LM670 TV and have connected this at moment to the YHT 298 but am not getting any sound from the unit. I have enabled the TV so it accepts ARC but still no joy. I have connected my iPhone to it and get sound what could be the problem that I am not able to trace. New to this so go easy and thanks in advance.



#2 of 11 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert



  • 15,238 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted April 07 2013 - 02:08 PM

ARC is not guranteed to work between brands...as it requires CEC to be "on" and CEC itself is not an industry standard.

 

Connect a toslink from the TV to the 298, forget ARC.

 

Also, what sources are you using? Can you connect them to the 298?



#3 of 11 OFFLINE   0337_v

0337_v

    Auditioning



  • 6 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 07 2013
  • Real Name:Usman Vali

Posted April 07 2013 - 11:46 PM

Hi Schan1269 I am new to all this so what do you mean by Toslink and at moment I am not using any sources but will be connecting a 3d blu ray player later on or should I connect it all together so it is all done in one go?



#4 of 11 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert



  • 15,238 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted April 08 2013 - 02:38 AM

So, you have cable/OTA going into the 75ohm connector and you need that audio sent to the 298, use a toslink. Been around since 1983.

 

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/TOSLINK



#5 of 11 OFFLINE   Al.Anderson

Al.Anderson

    Screenwriter



  • 2,254 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 02 2002
  • Real Name:Al

Posted April 08 2013 - 03:39 AM

The problem with using toslink (optical) is that you'll only get stereo, not surround sound.  So while ARC may not work for you in the end (because of the diffrent manufactureers), make sure you've done everything correctly before giving up on it.  The usual mistake is not "turing on" ARC during the Yamaha set-up.

 

 

... at moment I am not using any sources but will be connecting a 3d blu ray player later on or should I connect it all together so it is all done in one go?

 

You should connect the BR to the receiver for the reason I gave above.  If you connect it to the TV to make things "simple", you'll lose surround sound.



#6 of 11 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert



  • 15,238 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted April 08 2013 - 03:54 AM

He'll get 5.1 off the internal tuner. Which is apparently his only source...other than the "Smart features"...

 

Those will be stereo or not, regardless of the toslink/ARC.

 

Makes zero difference if you use ARC or a toslink.



#7 of 11 OFFLINE   0337_v

0337_v

    Auditioning



  • 6 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 07 2013
  • Real Name:Usman Vali

Posted April 08 2013 - 01:24 PM

So what you guys are saying to me is that I will not get surround sound from the 298 watching tv or brp?

#8 of 11 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert



  • 15,238 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted April 08 2013 - 01:28 PM

Yes, if you set it up and connect it correctly.



#9 of 11 OFFLINE   Al.Anderson

Al.Anderson

    Screenwriter



  • 2,254 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 02 2002
  • Real Name:Al

Posted April 09 2013 - 03:30 AM

He'll get 5.1 off the internal tuner. Which is apparently his only source...other than the "Smart features"...

 

Yes, my bad; the TV tuner does sent the surround signal through the optical.  (I'm away for a couple of weeks and I get stupid.)

 

 

So what you guys are saying to me is that I will not get surround sound from the 298 watching tv or brp?

 

But this is not true for any other device connected to the TV first.  So connect the BR directly to the receiver (at least the audio, but if you're using HDMI for the connection the video comes along for the ride).



#10 of 11 OFFLINE   0337_v

0337_v

    Auditioning



  • 6 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 07 2013
  • Real Name:Usman Vali

Posted April 09 2013 - 11:45 PM

I am going to connect the br by hdmi straight to the 298 and was wondering would I still get picture to the tv, as I am having problems with the sound didnt want the same with picture ?



#11 of 11 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert



  • 15,238 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted April 10 2013 - 03:37 AM

You are having problems cause you haven't set it up properly.If you understood "run a toslink", you'd no longer be confused, everything would work...and the "sun will come out tomorrow..."




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users