What's new

Advice for centralizing components for multi room use (1 Viewer)

Tundratic

Auditioning
Hey folks,
Bear with me as I'm kinda new to this stuff. I'm just looking for a little advice on how I could accomplish the following project:

Basically, I'm just looking to centralize components in a cooling rack in my house and then run cabling to various rooms for multi-room-use (internet modem, router, cable DVR, DLNA server, PS3 etc).

I'm not looking to try the impossible of using one of the components in two rooms at the same time - I know there are such DVRs out there, but mine doesn't have that capability (yet anyway).

I just want to be able to use the DVR, PS3, etc in more than the one room it is currently connected to (ie turn one room off and move to the other and turn it on there).

I'm wondering if I could accomplish this by merely placing an HDMI switch in the rack and connecting the DVR, PS3 into it and then running individual cables to the various rooms.

I could then program my Logitech Harmony 1100 remote to have separate room functions (ie "Watch TV Theater room" or "Watch TV livingroom" etc).

Would this work? I would just have to get IR extenders so my remote works throughout the house.

Any ideas? I'm sure there are better ways to do this. Probably better remote controlling systems too (wifi connected ipad remote perhaps?)

Sorry for the wall of text, but any ideas are greatly appreciated. I'll be sure to post my step by step and lots of photos once it's finished.

schan1269

HTF Expert
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Sam
Yep, there are, off the top of my head, 45 different companies making stuff to do this.

CableToGo
Vanco
MonoPrice
Xantech

And on, and on, and on

Easiest thing to do is call one of those companies and talk to them. Tell them what you got, how far HDMI/signal has to go...and they'll tell you exactly what you need.

Type A

HW Reviewer
Real Name
Ty
Welcome to the forum Tic.