-

Jump to content



Photo
- - - - -

Need help connecting TV to surround sound


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 of 6 OFFLINE   b320man

b320man

    Auditioning

  • 3 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 10 2013

Posted February 10 2013 - 07:26 PM

Hey Guys, I have a Samsung UA55ES6200 55” Series 6 Slim LED TV and a Yamaha YHT-298. I recently purchased the surround sound system the TV is about 6 months old. Movies work fine through the surround sound system which the blueray dvd player is connected to but the TV will not play through the surround sound system. It's connected to the TV video HDMI which it says to do in the instructions. PLEASE HELP! Thank you :)

#2 of 6 OFFLINE   Jason Charlton

Jason Charlton

    Screenwriter

  • 2,915 posts
  • Join Date: May 16 2002
  • Real Name:Jason Charlton
  • LocationBaltimore, MD

Posted February 11 2013 - 02:06 AM

Originally Posted by b320man 

but the TV will not play through the surround sound system.

It's connected to the TV video HDMI which it says to do in the instructions.
 


Hi Alex,


What is the source for "TV" - is it Cable/Satellite?  Is there a set top box involved, or does the coaxial cable exit straight from the wall and screw into a terminal on the back of the TV?


If you have cable/satellite and a set top box, you should run an HDMI cable from the cable/satelllite box output to an input on the Yamaha receiver.  I'm guessing you probably have cable/satellite connected directly to the TV - that will work with the TVs speakers, but TVs are not designed to be the hub of a system, and will not be able to output good sound quality to your receiver.


Once you connect your cable/satellite directly to the receiver, then you simply choose that input on the receiver to watch/listen to TV.


Are you new to the Home Theater Forum? Stop by the New Member Introductions area and introduce yourself! See you there!


#3 of 6 OFFLINE   b320man

b320man

    Auditioning

  • 3 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 10 2013

Posted February 11 2013 - 12:07 PM

I don't have cable or foxtel, I live in australia and I just plug the coaxil antenna cable right into the TV

#4 of 6 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert

  • 13,881 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted February 11 2013 - 01:46 PM

You need to connect the TV via toslink/digital coax(whichever on the TV has) to the Yamaha. I have no idea if both your items have ARC or not...Yamaha isn't letting me see the 298(not sold in the US). Even if both have ARC, there is no guarantee that Samsung and Yamaha CEC(which is required for the ARC) communicate.

#5 of 6 OFFLINE   b320man

b320man

    Auditioning

  • 3 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 10 2013

Posted February 11 2013 - 01:48 PM

oh ok, they both have arc

#6 of 6 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert

  • 13,881 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted February 11 2013 - 01:51 PM

Then you can try it. Somewhere in the set-up you'll see "Consumer Electronics Control"(AnyNet on Samsung). Find it, turn it on. Once you do that you'll find options in the TV for ARC and in the Yamaha...turn them on as well.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users