Jump to content



Photo
- - - - -

You can now upgrade your DVD's to HD using Vudu's At Home Disc to Digital


  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
58 replies to this topic

#1 of 59 Joshua Clinard

Joshua Clinard

    Advanced Member

  • PipPipPip
  • 1,671 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 25 2000
  • Real Name:Joshua Clinard
  • LocationAbilene, TX

Posted January 31 2013 - 09:37 AM

Boom!!! http://www.vudu.com/...to_digital.html Fixed!

#2 of 59 Steve Tannehill

Steve Tannehill

    Advanced Member

  • 5,332 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 06 1997
  • Real Name:Steve Tannehill
  • LocationDFW

Posted January 31 2013 - 09:39 AM

404 - Page Not Found The requested URL was not found on this server. If you entered the URL manually please check your spelling and try again. If you think this is a server error, please contact support. Click here to return to the home page.

#3 of 59 MattAlbie60

MattAlbie60

    I Work for Mr. E. H. Harriman of the Union Pacific Railroad.

  • PipPipPip
  • 561 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 21 2010
  • Real Name:Stephen Lilley
  • LocationBaltimore, Maryland

Posted February 01 2013 - 12:58 AM

I got the beta invite, too. I mean, I don't see how this could be useful to me at all. Anything I already own I can already rip myself in a format that I can do whatever I want with in minutes, for free. *shrugs* I just don't think this is for me.

#4 of 59 Joshua Clinard

Joshua Clinard

    Advanced Member

  • PipPipPip
  • 1,671 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 25 2000
  • Real Name:Joshua Clinard
  • LocationAbilene, TX

Posted February 01 2013 - 12:11 PM

I tried that route. I tried DVD shrink for years. I loved it. But it took so much time. like 4+ hours per movie. And that was just to copy it to another DVD. But later I wanted to play those files on my computer. I started downloading torrents. Had bout 200 movies on my hard drive. But the quality of most of the files was less than a DVD. So then I tried handbrake. Could never get one to come out at DVD quality. It was so complicated. What settings to use? One pass or two? Which output format? So many things could go wrong. Then I heard about Disc to Digital. Just take my disc to Wal-Mart, and they auto-rip it for me, in a format that is both high quality, and will play on any device I want? Awesome.

#5 of 59 Jim Mcc

Jim Mcc

    Advanced Member

  • PipPipPip
  • 3,710 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 11 2004
  • Real Name:Jim
  • LocationOconomowoc, WI.

Posted February 01 2013 - 04:24 PM

"Upgrade your DVD's to HD?" Yeah right !!

#6 of 59 Jim Mcc

Jim Mcc

    Advanced Member

  • PipPipPip
  • 3,710 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 11 2004
  • Real Name:Jim
  • LocationOconomowoc, WI.

Posted February 01 2013 - 04:29 PM

I tried that route. I tried DVD shrink for years. I loved it. But it took so much time. like 4+ hours per movie. And that was just to copy it to another DVD.

Joshua, you were doing something wrong, or you have the slowest computer known to man. Using DVD Decrypter and DVD Shrink(BOTH FREE) I can backup a 2 hour movie in about 15 minutes. When this first came out it was stupid and a waste of money, and it still is.

#7 of 59 MattAlbie60

MattAlbie60

    I Work for Mr. E. H. Harriman of the Union Pacific Railroad.

  • PipPipPip
  • 561 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 21 2010
  • Real Name:Stephen Lilley
  • LocationBaltimore, Maryland

Posted February 02 2013 - 01:44 AM

Yeah, Handbrake is way easier to use than you're making it sound. I just tried it - a total of three mouse clicks (not counting launching the program) and thirteen minutes later and job well done.

#8 of 59 Joshua Clinard

Joshua Clinard

    Advanced Member

  • PipPipPip
  • 1,671 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 25 2000
  • Real Name:Joshua Clinard
  • LocationAbilene, TX

Posted February 02 2013 - 04:44 AM

Handbrake itself may be easy, but it won't convert a DVD with copy protection, which all of my movies have. So now I have to go find a program to remove copy protection. I used to use DVDShrink, and it worked fine, but it took 2 to 3 hours. I just got tired of doing that.

#9 of 59 MattAlbie60

MattAlbie60

    I Work for Mr. E. H. Harriman of the Union Pacific Railroad.

  • PipPipPip
  • 561 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 21 2010
  • Real Name:Stephen Lilley
  • LocationBaltimore, Maryland

Posted February 02 2013 - 07:27 AM

Not trying to sway you one way or the other (let's just be a couple of people talking in this thread, and assume that we've never had disagreements about anything else in the past): How old is your computer? When I got my new PC after not upgrading in a moderately decent amount of time, I was *shocked* how much faster certain specific things got. Namely, video rendering essentially tripled in speed and optical disc ripping also got much, much faster. And also, certain programs are essentially easier than easy. After you install them, you don't actually have to do anything. You just leave them running. It is entirely automated these days. It's really nice, to be honest.

#10 of 59 Joshua Clinard

Joshua Clinard

    Advanced Member

  • PipPipPip
  • 1,671 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 25 2000
  • Real Name:Joshua Clinard
  • LocationAbilene, TX

Posted February 02 2013 - 10:17 AM

My computer is a Sony Vaio, and it's only a little over two years old. It has an Intel Core Duo Processor that runs at 2.2 GHz. And I am using DVDShrink to decrypt The Incredibles, and it says it will take 1.5 hours. And that's just decrypting it. Then I rip it with handbrake. It may be automated somewhat, but I still have to wait for it to finish and come back later and complete more steps. Too much of a hassle to do that for the more than one hundred films I have left that I want digital copies of. Much easier to put a DVD into a drive, open the Vudu D2D app, and have my digital copy ready to stream or download in 30 seconds. For someone with a large collection already in iTunes, I can see why you would want to stick with it, but for others who may just be starting movie collections, I think vudu and UV is the way to go.

#11 of 59 Joshua Clinard

Joshua Clinard

    Advanced Member

  • PipPipPip
  • 1,671 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 25 2000
  • Real Name:Joshua Clinard
  • LocationAbilene, TX

Posted February 02 2013 - 10:31 AM

30 miniutes later, DVDShrink encountered an error, cyclic redundancy check, and could not continue.

#12 of 59 DaveF

DaveF

    Advanced Member

  • PipPipPip
  • 12,515 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 04 2001
  • Real Name:David Fischer
  • LocationOne Loudoun, Ashburn, VA

Posted February 03 2013 - 12:48 AM

I'm intrigued. Ripping and transcoding a DVD for iPad use takes about 4 hours on my 5 yr old laptop. But this VUDU is $2 a dsc? How about TV series; does it deal with multiple episodes per disc? But it's moot for now. PC only, no Mac software.

#13 of 59 MattAlbie60

MattAlbie60

    I Work for Mr. E. H. Harriman of the Union Pacific Railroad.

  • PipPipPip
  • 561 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 21 2010
  • Real Name:Stephen Lilley
  • LocationBaltimore, Maryland

Posted February 03 2013 - 01:17 AM

You know what, that's an excellent question. From what I can tell, it would still be "per disc." And keep in mind if you're upgrading from DVD to HD, it's going to be more money. It wouldn't be "per episode" or anything like that, just per disc. So in that case, it might be more financially responsible of you to just purchase a season of a show from Vudu or someplace outright, as you're accomplish the same thing for less money.

#14 of 59 Joshua Clinard

Joshua Clinard

    Advanced Member

  • PipPipPip
  • 1,671 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 25 2000
  • Real Name:Joshua Clinard
  • LocationAbilene, TX

Posted February 03 2013 - 04:46 AM

TV Seasons are not eligible for Disc to Digital. But Vudu has some pretty good prices on TV shows.

#15 of 59 DaveF

DaveF

    Advanced Member

  • PipPipPip
  • 12,515 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 04 2001
  • Real Name:David Fischer
  • LocationOne Loudoun, Ashburn, VA

Posted February 03 2013 - 07:28 AM

Alas, Vudu remains useless to me.



#16 of 59 MattAlbie60

MattAlbie60

    I Work for Mr. E. H. Harriman of the Union Pacific Railroad.

  • PipPipPip
  • 561 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 21 2010
  • Real Name:Stephen Lilley
  • LocationBaltimore, Maryland

Posted February 03 2013 - 07:33 AM

Yeah, that's silly. I don't know why they wouldn't work up some kind of plan for TV shows? Seems like a home run. Oh well.

#17 of 59 Joshua Clinard

Joshua Clinard

    Advanced Member

  • PipPipPip
  • 1,671 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 25 2000
  • Real Name:Joshua Clinard
  • LocationAbilene, TX

Posted February 03 2013 - 07:36 AM

My movie finally finished ripping. Took about an hour and a half. The quality is terrible using the default settings. What do you use.

#18 of 59 MattAlbie60

MattAlbie60

    I Work for Mr. E. H. Harriman of the Union Pacific Railroad.

  • PipPipPip
  • 561 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 21 2010
  • Real Name:Stephen Lilley
  • LocationBaltimore, Maryland

Posted February 03 2013 - 07:44 AM

Okay, first I have to know what you're talking about. What program are you dealing with at the moment: AnyDVD, Handbrake, something else? I don't understand why decrypting and ripping are two different processes for you.

#19 of 59 Joshua Clinard

Joshua Clinard

    Advanced Member

  • PipPipPip
  • 1,671 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 25 2000
  • Real Name:Joshua Clinard
  • LocationAbilene, TX

Posted February 03 2013 - 07:57 AM

I'm using Handbrake, but it will only rip from a file, not directly from a DVD. I'm using the rf20 quality settings.

#20 of 59 DaveF

DaveF

    Advanced Member

  • PipPipPip
  • 12,515 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 04 2001
  • Real Name:David Fischer
  • LocationOne Loudoun, Ashburn, VA

Posted February 03 2013 - 08:00 AM

I suggest the conversation be moved over to PM or email or other means :)


HTF rules prohibit discussing ripping DVDs & Blu-ray.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users