Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Recommendation of 8 port router or switch?


  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 of 7 OFFLINE   DaveF

DaveF

    Moderator



  • 14,262 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 04 2001
  • Real Name:David Fischer
  • LocationOne Loudoun, Ashburn, VA

Posted January 11 2013 - 12:50 PM

I need at least five ports (plus a WAN connection to connect to the Fios router) to connect the five Ethernet ports used in my house. Are there any practical differences between gigabit switches? I'm also a perplexed by the lack of WAN port. I've got a cheap switch in the living room. It's four port, with a separate fifth wan port. But looking at newegg, the 8-port switches don't have a separate uplink port, which means they're really 7port switches...or they won't connect my system to the Internet? Are there any 8 port switches with 9th uplink input (affordable for home use)?

#2 of 7 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert



  • 14,448 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted January 11 2013 - 01:04 PM

You can "stack" switches. I use the Netgear FS605. My living room ethernet runs in into the FS605, runs out to the TV/Directv/BD and another cable runs to the kitchen to another FS605, which runs into a ADT network hub and a DVR.

#3 of 7 OFFLINE   DaveF

DaveF

    Moderator



  • 14,262 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 04 2001
  • Real Name:David Fischer
  • LocationOne Loudoun, Ashburn, VA

Posted January 11 2013 - 02:34 PM

In fact, I have to, because one of those five goes to the living room, which has that small switch for TiVo, Xbox, and blu ray. I'd rather have an 8 port in the basement junction box, rather than stacking a pair of 4 ports, because I'd then need to put a power strip in as well. But if that's the only practical solution, it's a good idea.

#4 of 7 OFFLINE   DaveF

DaveF

    Moderator



  • 14,262 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 04 2001
  • Real Name:David Fischer
  • LocationOne Loudoun, Ashburn, VA

Posted January 12 2013 - 02:58 PM

Probably buy this one, $30 at NewEgg http://www.trendnet....od=515_TEG-S80G And replacing my 2007 Apple AEBS with a new, non-Apple wireless router. Hoping that will fix the erratic wifi performance I've had for a while. http://www.asus.com/...Routers/RTN66U/

#5 of 7 OFFLINE   Stan

Stan

    Screenwriter



  • 2,250 posts
  • Join Date: May 18 1999

Posted January 13 2013 - 01:04 AM

Stupid question, especially having worked in IT for 20+ years, but what is exactly the differece between a router and a switch? I hired a lot of vendors to do the major install/wiring work and honestly don't know the difference. I figure we're all allowed one stupid question per year, so I'm using mine up fairly early.
Stan

#6 of 7 OFFLINE   DaveF

DaveF

    Moderator



  • 14,262 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 04 2001
  • Real Name:David Fischer
  • LocationOne Loudoun, Ashburn, VA

Posted January 13 2013 - 01:26 AM

Switch can create a local network. A router does that, and also can connect that network to see the Internet. My switch will have to be connected to the Fios modem/router, so my LAN has Internet access. I hope that is both correct and clear.

#7 of 7 OFFLINE   DaveF

DaveF

    Moderator



  • 14,262 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 04 2001
  • Real Name:David Fischer
  • LocationOne Loudoun, Ashburn, VA

Posted January 19 2013 - 04:51 AM

Originally Posted by DaveF 

Probably buy this one, $30 at NewEgg
http://www.trendnet....od=515_TEG-S80G
Bought the TrendNet switch and inserted it into my network.


After some searching and confusion, first did a file copy to test network speed. That's easy but only gives about 50% performance at best.

http://www.macworld..../?articleid=414




A few hours more of confused googling and false starts, I found jperf.app

http://jesterpm.net/downloads


That shows a respectable 850 - 900 Mbps on the shortest LAN route in my house. I'll test all the house connections later.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users