Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Amp connection questions


  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 of 15 OFFLINE   suckitTrebek

suckitTrebek

    Extra



  • 24 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 06 2012

Posted December 25 2012 - 07:25 AM

I just picked up a Emotiva XPA-5 I'm using 12 gauge speaker wire from the amp to the speakers. What are the best cables to use from the AVR to the amp??

#2 of 15 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert



  • 14,455 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted December 25 2012 - 07:57 AM

RCA cables.

#3 of 15 OFFLINE   suckitTrebek

suckitTrebek

    Extra



  • 24 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 06 2012

Posted December 25 2012 - 09:05 AM

ok. RCA ok, now why not XLR to RCA? balanced or unbalanced? And if RCA what would be considered the best ones at monoprice? thanks!

#4 of 15 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert



  • 14,455 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted December 25 2012 - 09:19 AM

If you want to waste money buying RCA/XLR, sure, go right ahead. If one end is unbalanced, both ends are. If you have some RCA laying around the house, unused...use them. Heck you could even use one of these... http://www.amazon.co...ent video audio And yes, I know the component is RG6/shielded and the audio part isn't...but I doubt you'd notice a difference.

#5 of 15 OFFLINE   suckitTrebek

suckitTrebek

    Extra



  • 24 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 06 2012

Posted December 25 2012 - 11:43 AM

It was an inquiry from a new guy. I went with the RCA's

#6 of 15 OFFLINE   suckitTrebek

suckitTrebek

    Extra



  • 24 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 06 2012

Posted January 03 2013 - 03:13 AM

Would this cable be sufficient? or is there a better choice? http://www.monoprice...&seq=1&format=2

#7 of 15 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert



  • 14,455 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted January 03 2013 - 03:16 AM

Yep, it is 22awg RG59. Overkill, but "not overkill" is 80% of what those cost.

#8 of 15 OFFLINE   suckitTrebek

suckitTrebek

    Extra



  • 24 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 06 2012

Posted January 03 2013 - 03:18 AM

"Overkill, but "not overkill" is 80% of what those cost." I'm sorry, can you translate that. hahaha

#9 of 15 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert



  • 14,455 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted January 03 2013 - 03:22 AM

I doubt you'd notice a difference... http://www.amazon.co...words=rca cable

#10 of 15 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert



  • 14,455 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted January 03 2013 - 03:38 AM

What I mean is... The cable from pre-amp to amp just needs to be an RCA. What the actual composition of that cable is doesn't matter(if no "outlying issues" are present). That $1.50 cable is more than likely more than enough. If you have a wifi network running into your AVR or CFL bulbs in the room...then you need RG59/6 shielded(maybe). But there is no reason not to buy the MP cables. So, spend $4.26 or $10.35.

#11 of 15 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert



  • 14,455 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted January 03 2013 - 03:40 AM

Or you could spend even less money and buy two of these(assuming you are running 6*, not 4)... http://www.monoprice...&seq=1&format=2 *I'm taking 3 RCA, total of 6 connections...

#12 of 15 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert



  • 14,455 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted January 03 2013 - 03:44 AM

Point being...if you are running 6 channels http://www.monoprice...&seq=1&format=2 (x2) equals http://www.monoprice...format=2&ref=cj (x3) Or if running 5....buy one of each. It also looks like the component cable is actually 3 separate cables anyway...or looks like you can separate them by pulling them apart like Red Vines/Twizzler.

#13 of 15 OFFLINE   suckitTrebek

suckitTrebek

    Extra



  • 24 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 06 2012

Posted January 03 2013 - 04:24 AM

That's cool. Just making sure. I'd already gotten these and wanted to be sure they were a sufficient choice. http://www.monoprice...&seq=1&format=2 All hooked up and not that impressed with the amp addition.

#14 of 15 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert



  • 14,455 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted January 03 2013 - 04:27 AM

Another "Hey I got more power, what gives?" lesson... I had a feeling your problem wasn't power.

#15 of 15 OFFLINE   suckitTrebek

suckitTrebek

    Extra



  • 24 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 06 2012

Posted January 04 2013 - 12:31 AM

No lesson learned here. I can definitely tell a difference when I turn the volume all the way up. Effortless power and clarity at high volume. It just takes alot to impress me. And for those looking for a night/day difference it won't happen. My expectations were met.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users