Jump to content



Sign up for a free account!

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests to win things like this Logitech Harmony Ultimate Remote and you won't get the popup ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Blu-ray player has no optical audio output


  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 of 11 Colossal

Colossal

    Extra

  • 22 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 12 2012

Posted December 14 2012 - 03:26 AM

And it has a single HDMI output, the problem is that I want to connect it to my soundbar, and my TV, how do I do that? Would a HDMI Y splitter work?

#2 of 11 schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert

  • 12,615 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted December 14 2012 - 03:31 AM

What BD player is this? And what soundbar?

#3 of 11 Colossal

Colossal

    Extra

  • 22 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 12 2012

Posted December 14 2012 - 03:52 AM

Yamaha YAS101bl SoundBar Philips BDP3000/05 Blu-ray Player

#4 of 11 schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert

  • 12,615 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted December 14 2012 - 04:24 AM

There you go, took two seconds once you told us what you had... http://www.amazon.co...toslink adapter Solves the "My BD player has a digital coax, but I didn't buy a soundbar with one" dilemma...

#5 of 11 Colossal

Colossal

    Extra

  • 22 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 12 2012

Posted December 14 2012 - 06:03 AM

My Blu-ray player doesn't have a coax output, it only has a HDMI I believe. Since it only has a HDMI output, and that goes into the TV, do I use a HDMI Y splitter or what?

#6 of 11 schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert

  • 12,615 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted December 14 2012 - 06:32 AM

You must not know what a digital coax is, cause the Philips website...clearly says it has one. http://www.philips.c...=specifications

#7 of 11 schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert

  • 12,615 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted December 14 2012 - 06:34 AM

And good lord. I just looked at the YAS 101... It has a digital coax. Hook it up already.

#8 of 11 Colossal

Colossal

    Extra

  • 22 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 12 2012

Posted December 14 2012 - 06:41 AM

Sorry, I'm an idiot! So is there much difference between coax cables and optical?

#9 of 11 schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert

  • 12,615 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted December 14 2012 - 06:42 AM

By the way... Page 9 of the owners manual, in the bottom right corner... "Connect to digital amplifier/receiver"(which is plainly marked there on page 9) Your YAS 101 counts as "amplifier/receiver" The digital coax connection on your YAS 101 is marked "STB". And oh yeah, both connections are orange.

#10 of 11 schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert

  • 12,615 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted December 14 2012 - 06:44 AM

digital coax=toslink. Always has.

#11 of 11 schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert

  • 12,615 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted December 14 2012 - 06:47 AM

And sorry for my initial reaction... Been watching the Connecticut shooting at the same time...




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users