-

Jump to content



Sign up for a free account!

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and you won't get the popup ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Need help with connecting my subwoofer


  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 of 10 Gavink

Gavink

    Auditioning

  • 12 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 04 2012

Posted December 13 2012 - 02:00 PM

I've been setting up my Home Theater system, the speakers were easy, but now I am stuck on the sub. Everything is pre wired, but the subwoofer wire has 4 wires in it....how am I supposed to connect it? http://imgur.com/a/qk7xB - thats an album with pictures of the wire and the back of my sub a BIC F12. The wire, if you cant tell, has a green, black, red, and white wire.

#2 of 10 Robert_J

Robert_J

    Lead Actor

  • 8,116 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 22 2000
  • Real Name:Robert
  • LocationMississippi

Posted December 13 2012 - 03:26 PM

What receiver?

#3 of 10 schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert

  • 13,305 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted December 13 2012 - 03:37 PM

I'm trying to figure out how you wound up with a 4-strand wire for the subwoofer connection... We need more info... What "was there"? What are you connecting now?

#4 of 10 Gavink

Gavink

    Auditioning

  • 12 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 04 2012

Posted December 13 2012 - 03:51 PM

What receiver?

Onkyo NR 717

I'm trying to figure out how you wound up with a 4-strand wire for the subwoofer connection... We need more info... What "was there"? What are you connecting now?

Nothing "was there", its the pre wiring for the sub in the house I bought. I am now connecting a subwoofer. It is labeled "Sub" on the wire, and I am connecting a BIC F 12 Subwoofer as seen in the album I posted in my original post.

#5 of 10 Robert_J

Robert_J

    Lead Actor

  • 8,116 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 22 2000
  • Real Name:Robert
  • LocationMississippi

Posted December 13 2012 - 04:03 PM

It's not the correct type of wire for that receiver/sub combination. You can try to make it work or try the less than perfect, high level connection but neither will provide the best sound. How close is your receiver to the sub? Can you use a cable run over the floor? Can you replace that cable?

#6 of 10 schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert

  • 13,305 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted December 13 2012 - 04:33 PM

That is not the wiring for a modern sub. That must be from the days before .1 when subwoofers ran from the right and left into a subwoofer and then to the satellites. That pre-wire has to over 15 years old.

#7 of 10 Gavink

Gavink

    Auditioning

  • 12 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 04 2012

Posted December 13 2012 - 04:42 PM

It's not the correct type of wire for that receiver/sub combination. You can try to make it work or try the less than perfect, high level connection but neither will provide the best sound. How close is your receiver to the sub? Can you use a cable run over the floor? Can you replace that cable?

Yeah I can run a cable along the floor. Might have to do that.

That is not the wiring for a modern sub. That must be from the days before .1 when subwoofers ran from the right and left into a subwoofer and then to the satellites. That pre-wire has to over 15 years old.

It was pre wired in 2009....thats weird. It says "5.1 living room" on the set of wires. Also, if it was set up for the old style, the subwoofer would need 4 wires going to it, and 4 more wires leaving it to the satellites I think.

#8 of 10 Gavink

Gavink

    Auditioning

  • 12 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 04 2012

Posted December 13 2012 - 05:36 PM

I came to the conclusion that the installers are idiots. They should have used regular RCA, but now I have to use adapters, such as these - http://www.radioshac...oductId=2103848 So I will try that tomorrow and get back to you guys.

#9 of 10 schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert

  • 13,305 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted December 14 2012 - 12:46 AM

Those RCA adapters might work. They did that in 2009? Maybe they were partying like it was 1999... Or the prior owner had Bose...:rolleyes:

#10 of 10 Robert_J

Robert_J

    Lead Actor

  • 8,116 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 22 2000
  • Real Name:Robert
  • LocationMississippi

Posted December 14 2012 - 04:09 AM

Using that wire may also create an antenna that picks up a bunch of interference. That's why we use shielded, coaxial cable for sub cables.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users