-

Jump to content



Photo
- - - - -

connection between my lcd and home theater


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 of 7 Yogesh12

Yogesh12

    Auditioning

  • 3 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 13 2012

Posted December 13 2012 - 07:09 AM

Hi, i have sony 46hx85 lcd tv and dav-dz290k... both have hdmi. previously i was using another sony tv of 40 inches.. i connected audio (red and white) from my home theater system to tv and configured as audio out in my tv and was able to use it.. but in my new tv i am not having that option... i have set top box and it also has hdmi support.. i want my sound to come in home theater system when it is on and in tv when it is off. how to configure it?

#2 of 7 Jason Charlton

Jason Charlton

    Screenwriter

  • 2,903 posts
  • Join Date: May 16 2002
  • Real Name:Jason Charlton
  • LocationBaltimore, MD

Posted December 13 2012 - 08:48 AM

If your set top box has stereo audio output (red/white RCA) then simply connect the audio output from the set top box directly to the red/white inputs on the Sony home theater system.


If your set top box does NOT have analog red/white outputs, then you may need to get an adapter to convert from whichever digital output it has - coaxial or optical/toslink - to analog stereo, then connect that into the Sony home theater system.


That Sony home theater system will not support any more than one external device, and that one input is limited to analog stereo.  If you want to hear digital surround sound for any source other than DVD, you will need to consider getting a different home theater system.


Hope this helps.


Are you new to the Home Theater Forum? Stop by the New Member Introductions area and introduce yourself! See you there!


#3 of 7 schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert

  • 13,747 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted December 13 2012 - 10:37 AM

Here is a link to that "adapter" . http://www.amazon.co...=digital analog

#4 of 7 Yogesh12

Yogesh12

    Auditioning

  • 3 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 13 2012

Posted December 13 2012 - 06:03 PM

If your set top box has stereo audio output (red/white RCA) then simply connect the audio output from the set top box directly to the red/white inputs on the Sony home theater system. If your set top box does NOT have analog red/white outputs, then you may need to get an adapter to convert from whichever digital output it has - coaxial or optical/toslink - to analog stereo, then connect that into the Sony home theater system. That Sony home theater system will not support any more than one external device, and that one input is limited to analog stereo.  If you want to hear digital surround sound for any source other than DVD, you will need to consider getting a different home theater system. Hope this helps.

i have ps3 also. so it will be tedious to connect each and everytime. my previous setup was, two hdmi to tv (ps3 and set top box) and white + red cable from tv to home theater system. ad i configured in of white + red of tv to out. but in this tv i cant configure in to out. thats major problem :( any hlp?

#5 of 7 schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert

  • 13,747 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted December 14 2012 - 12:26 AM

Yeah, we both just told you, Buy the toslink/analog adapter. I assume the TV has a digital audio output. I can't find any English websites for that TV(which is odd). So, does it have a digital output?

#6 of 7 Yogesh12

Yogesh12

    Auditioning

  • 3 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 13 2012

Posted December 14 2012 - 12:52 AM

yes now i am in search of that converter.. yes my tv has that... u can search for bravia 46hx850... my tv has digital output.. can u tell me how to identify hdmi 1.4 cable?

#7 of 7 schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert

  • 13,747 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted December 14 2012 - 01:05 AM

There is no such thing as HDMI 1.4 cable. You have standard speed. You have High Speed. You have High Speed w/ Ethernet. If you have 3D/ARC, you technically need High Speed. But, if you are dealing with a 6 foot or shorter HDMI run...just buy one.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users