-

Jump to content



Photo
- - - - -

TV has no audio output, but...


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 of 7 OFFLINE   Colossal

Colossal

    Extra

  • 22 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 12 2012

Posted December 12 2012 - 03:00 PM

Would it work if I, instead of hooking up an optical audio cable from the TV to the soundbar (because my TV doesn't have audio outputs)... just hooked my devices such as my games console and blu ray player directly to the soundbar via optical audio cables? Would that work?

#2 of 7 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert

  • 13,881 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted December 12 2012 - 03:05 PM

It is actually preferred to bypass the TV for the audio.

#3 of 7 OFFLINE   Colossal

Colossal

    Extra

  • 22 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 12 2012

Posted December 12 2012 - 03:07 PM

So yes, it would work?

#4 of 7 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert

  • 13,881 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted December 12 2012 - 03:27 PM

preferred=yes

#5 of 7 OFFLINE   Colossal

Colossal

    Extra

  • 22 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 12 2012

Posted December 12 2012 - 03:34 PM

So the fact that my TV has no audio outputs means nothing? If so, that's great.

#6 of 7 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert

  • 13,881 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted December 12 2012 - 03:53 PM

pretty much.

#7 of 7 OFFLINE   Al.Anderson

Al.Anderson

    Screenwriter

  • 2,179 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 02 2002
  • Real Name:Al

Posted December 12 2012 - 07:16 PM

The only time having audio on the TV is necessary is when you're getting an over-the-air signal directly to the TV. Otherwise, as Sam said, going to directly to the audio processor (receiver/soundbar) is preferred.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users