Jump to content



Sign up for a free account!

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests to win things like this Logitech Harmony Ultimate Remote and you won't get the popup ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

JBL Northridge E250P making popping sounds.....


  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 of 17 Coryp81

Coryp81

    Auditioning

  • 9 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 10 2012

Posted December 10 2012 - 08:28 AM

Hello. This problem has been happening for awhile. When i play games or watch movies, after a while my subwoofer starts to make popping sounds and other little noises. When it does the popping, the light blinks between Red and Green. I have it hooked up to my receiver via a RCA cable I had laying around. Is it because I am using those cables? I am looking for a direction to start going into to resolve this . Thank you.

#2 of 17 schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert

  • 12,821 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted December 10 2012 - 08:41 AM

Usually that is a sign you are asking for more bass than it can actually produce... But, if it is EMI causing the problem...replace with a shielded cable. Shielded subwoofer is the same as digital coax and composite video(the old yellow cable from the days of VCR). So, do you have a really long yellow cable laying around not being used? If not... http://www.amazon.co...ds=composite 15

#3 of 17 Coryp81

Coryp81

    Auditioning

  • 9 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 10 2012

Posted December 10 2012 - 08:43 AM

How do you tell if it is a shielded cable?

#4 of 17 schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert

  • 12,821 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted December 10 2012 - 09:45 AM

Easy... RG6 is obvious. RG6(comcast/Time Warner/Dish Network/Directv)=composite video=digital coax=shielded subwoofer. So, find a composite video cable laying around the house and compare it to the RCA you are using now.

#5 of 17 schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert

  • 12,821 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted December 10 2012 - 09:48 AM

If you have a spare piece of coax(RG6) laying around from when your cable/sat was installed...buy a couple of these... http://www.amazon.co...s=rca f adapter

#6 of 17 Coryp81

Coryp81

    Auditioning

  • 9 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 10 2012

Posted December 10 2012 - 09:49 AM

I am trying a pair of component cables I had. they are shielded. I am hoping that is the problem.

#7 of 17 schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert

  • 12,821 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted December 10 2012 - 09:53 AM

Oh yeah, forgot component...but yeah, component is the same thing, just in triplicate...

#8 of 17 Coryp81

Coryp81

    Auditioning

  • 9 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 10 2012

Posted December 10 2012 - 11:38 AM

Well, so far so good. But I am not happy until a few days goes by without incident. But thank you. The whole shielded versus unshielded thing never occurred to me.

#9 of 17 Coryp81

Coryp81

    Auditioning

  • 9 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 10 2012

Posted December 10 2012 - 02:58 PM

ugh..it started doing it after a couple of hours where it worked fine. None of the settings on it are at max. Could it still be over worked even if that's the case?

#10 of 17 schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert

  • 12,821 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted December 10 2012 - 03:04 PM

Or the amp is just dying. How long have you had it?

#11 of 17 Coryp81

Coryp81

    Auditioning

  • 9 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 10 2012

Posted December 10 2012 - 03:05 PM

hmm..i want to say around 7 years.

#12 of 17 schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert

  • 12,821 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted December 10 2012 - 03:13 PM

Perfect excuse to pick up one of these... http://www.amazon.co...ywords=bic f12' or (and yes the Kevlar driver is worth the expense) http://www.amazon.co...ywords=bic f12'

#13 of 17 Coryp81

Coryp81

    Auditioning

  • 9 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 10 2012

Posted December 10 2012 - 03:24 PM

is that about the equivalent to the one I have?

#14 of 17 schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert

  • 12,821 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted December 10 2012 - 04:19 PM

The F12 is probably equal. The VK12 would up the ante.

#15 of 17 Coryp81

Coryp81

    Auditioning

  • 9 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 10 2012

Posted December 11 2012 - 01:15 PM

hmmm..if only i was rich...lol

#16 of 17 Robert_J

Robert_J

    Lead Actor

  • 8,051 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 22 2000
  • Real Name:Robert
  • LocationMississippi

Posted December 11 2012 - 01:36 PM

hmmm..if only i was rich...lol

Then you could get a "Thor's Hammer" by Wilson Audio. MSRP is $20,000+ and you have to buy an amp for it. http://www.wilsonaud...duct_thor.shtml

#17 of 17 Coryp81

Coryp81

    Auditioning

  • 9 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 10 2012

Posted December 12 2012 - 07:00 AM

well..if you think the F12 will be about the same. i just don't want to lose anything with the new sub.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users