-

Jump to content



Photo
- - - - -

Help required for a 7.1 HTIB


  • Please log in to reply
86 replies to this topic

#41 of 87 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert

  • 13,881 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted December 13 2012 - 01:16 PM

Yes they'll work. I'm not a fan of banana plugs...but plenty of people are... I tend to think of them as an unnecessary accoutrement ...

#42 of 87 OFFLINE   gri1981

gri1981

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 54 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 23 2012

Posted December 17 2012 - 04:23 AM

Ok, so fortunately the Speakers came in on Friday :D, rest of saturday went about assembling and wiring the connections ...so now i have Pioneer 1122k & MLT2 Martin logans paired up with 14AWG wires & Banana plugs. TV- 50" Panasonic Plasma with Apple TV as the streaming app. Connected some 5.1 Demo videos in YouTube & the sound rocked!!!! Performed the MCACC on the pioneer and not sure about the results to view( would have to check with some Pioneer Tech Rep ). but overall with just the basic setup and no tweaks, the sound is pretty AWESOME!!!! Still trying to figure out using the Iphone App ( some issue with registering on my network ) Thanks so much all of you :)) and thank god i did not give in to the temptation of Bose as this system beats the most highly tuned Bose HTs hands down! Am happy :) only time would tell whether the neighbors are :)

#43 of 87 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert

  • 13,881 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted December 17 2012 - 04:48 AM

Great to hear back on success stories. Once you get the network bugs solved(haha...those never completely go away) you'll be in heaven.

#44 of 87 OFFLINE   gene c

gene c

    Producer

  • 5,708 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 05 2003
  • Real Name:Gene
  • LocationBay area, Ca

Posted December 17 2012 - 11:23 AM

And you really need to double-check the MCACC results. It often sets the front speakers to Large and they really should be set to Small. You should also let us know what the crossover was set to. Both can easily be re-set in the Setup menu.
"Everyday room": Panasonic 58" Plasma, Dish HD DVR, Pioneer Elite vsx-23, BDP-23 BR, dv58avi universal dvd player, Paradigm Studio 20 V1, CC-450, Dayton HSU-10 subwoofer.

"Movie/Music room": Toshiba 65" DLP, Dish HD receiver, Marantz 7005, CC-4003, BD-7006, Polk LSI25's-LSi7's-LSiC, 2 original Dayton 10" "Mighty-Mites" subwoofers. (subject to change without notice).
 
Also have  MB Quart Vera VS05 +.....too much to list. Help me.
 
 

 


#45 of 87 OFFLINE   gri1981

gri1981

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 54 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 23 2012

Posted December 17 2012 - 11:38 AM

How do i check the setup menu? there wasnt any manual for the separate features and the AV navigator CD is not working with my MAC....

#46 of 87 OFFLINE   gri1981

gri1981

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 54 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 23 2012

Posted December 17 2012 - 11:40 AM

There is a menu button but pressing that kindoff flashes a screen on the TV with Advanced MACC but which areas do is see? in Other setup?

#47 of 87 OFFLINE   gri1981

gri1981

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 54 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 23 2012

Posted December 17 2012 - 11:43 AM

After the callibration the Speaker setting does show as Front : Small, Surround : Small , center : Small and SB : NO...

#48 of 87 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert

  • 13,881 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted December 17 2012 - 11:46 AM

What crossover does it show? That is the only bad thing about "networked manual"...until you understand how the "networking itself" works...you don't have a manual...

#49 of 87 OFFLINE   gri1981

gri1981

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 54 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 23 2012

Posted December 17 2012 - 11:47 AM

My main thing is , how do i set the receiver on my network? the Iphone Apps give an error of an invalid network...

#50 of 87 OFFLINE   gri1981

gri1981

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 54 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 23 2012

Posted December 17 2012 - 12:38 PM

Where do i check the crossover?

#51 of 87 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert

  • 13,881 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted December 17 2012 - 12:46 PM

I assume the AVR has a normal remote. Go into set-up. Same place where you picked HDMI...

#52 of 87 OFFLINE   gri1981

gri1981

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 54 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 23 2012

Posted December 17 2012 - 12:50 PM

Ok, got it... in speaker setting the X Over is mentioned as 100 HZ

#53 of 87 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert

  • 13,881 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted December 17 2012 - 12:58 PM

You might play around with 110(if you have that choice) and 120hz, to see which you like best.

#54 of 87 OFFLINE   gri1981

gri1981

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 54 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 23 2012

Posted December 17 2012 - 01:11 PM

It gives me an option to directly go to 150 and not in between.....should i try that? Also..in the network setup it shows the IP as all 0 , have set as DHCP = ON....any idea how do i place this on my Wifi network? I think due to that the Airplay and the Sat radio is also stuck

#55 of 87 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert

  • 13,881 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted December 17 2012 - 02:09 PM

If you have no choice between 100 and 150, leave it at 100... Is your Wifi discoverable?

#56 of 87 OFFLINE   gri1981

gri1981

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 54 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 23 2012

Posted December 17 2012 - 03:03 PM

yea..it is...checked somewhere else and they say that i have to hard wire via the LAN port :( those guys at Pioneer are off the day as well

#57 of 87 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert

  • 13,881 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted December 17 2012 - 03:58 PM

I thought you had it connected via LAN. Wifi "capable" doesn't mean anything. It still has to have a LAN...but you can get one of these... http://www.amazon.co...ds=netgear 2001

#58 of 87 OFFLINE   gri1981

gri1981

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 54 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 23 2012

Posted December 18 2012 - 12:29 PM

Oh ok...have to get that then! Also another confusion now.. i was playing some 5.1 Dolby surround videos from You tube and noticed that i couldnt hear any output from my rear speakers!,, the Pioneer manual has 2 surround areas. The 2 rear speakers are around 3 feet above from my couch and around 1 feet behind ...do they classify as Surround Right/Left or Surround Back Right/Left? I noticed that they were attached earlier to Surround Right & Surround Left earlier... i switched that to Surround Back Right/Left respectively and did the MCACC again....and this time calbration gave an error for the Rear 2 speakers.....any idea if i am doing something wrong? I have some questions on the subwoofer setting too....

#59 of 87 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert

  • 13,881 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted December 18 2012 - 12:36 PM

Surround is 4/5. Back surround is 6/7. So, without 4/5, there is no 6/7. And "just because it says 5.1"...doesn't mean 4/5 have much to do. Especially internet based sources...

#60 of 87 OFFLINE   gri1981

gri1981

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 54 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 23 2012

Posted December 18 2012 - 01:02 PM

Ok got it .. so essentially when i get additional 2 speakers i should ideally be placing them much behind?? as of now the rear surround speakers are on the rear wall of my room ...so the additional 2 can they sit somewhere lower? .... for the subwoofer...: just realized that since yesterday its letting out an intermittent cough sound...is that normal?




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users