-

Jump to content



Sign up for a free account!

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and you won't get the popup ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

2012 Ultra Thin iMac refresh buyers and owners thread


  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
124 replies to this topic

#81 of 125 Sam Posten

Sam Posten

    Moderator

  • 15,956 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 30 1997
  • Real Name:Sam Posten
  • LocationAberdeen, MD & Navesink, NJ

Posted January 07 2013 - 04:40 AM

Fusion available for the 21" now: http://www.macgasm.n...-21-5-inch-imac

I lost my signature and all I got was this Nutter t-shirt


#82 of 125 DaveF

DaveF

    Moderator

  • 13,352 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 04 2001
  • Real Name:David Fischer
  • LocationOne Loudoun, Ashburn, VA

Posted January 11 2013 - 12:59 PM

Off topoc: That link crashed mobile safari. I've also had the verge crash safari. What's going on with these websites and/or safari?

#83 of 125 Sam Posten

Sam Posten

    Moderator

  • 15,956 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 30 1997
  • Real Name:Sam Posten
  • LocationAberdeen, MD & Navesink, NJ

Posted February 01 2013 - 06:47 AM

Via MacRumors, the thin design has been linked to the Brontosaurus theory!

I lost my signature and all I got was this Nutter t-shirt


#84 of 125 Sam Posten

Sam Posten

    Moderator

  • 15,956 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 30 1997
  • Real Name:Sam Posten
  • LocationAberdeen, MD & Navesink, NJ

Posted February 11 2013 - 07:21 AM

The hub sucks, most storage devices won't work with it. I need a serious 8 port powered USB 3.0 hub that is flawless. Any suggestions? Also.... I got into watching last season of The Walking Dead on Netflix from my iPad and slapped my head and thought 'I bet this would look pretty damn good on the new 27"er....' only to be stopped in my tracks because it requires Silverlight =( Maybe it's just me, but I refuse to install Flash, Java or Silverlight on aything anymore unless I absolutely have to. Until they release a way to watch without Silverlight on OSX I guess it's back to iPad viewing for me...

I lost my signature and all I got was this Nutter t-shirt


#85 of 125 mattCR

mattCR

    Lead Actor

  • 9,998 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 05 2005
  • Real Name:Matt
  • LocationOverland Park, KS

Posted February 11 2013 - 07:34 AM

In the end, Sam, Netflix and others are always going to demand some sort of Content Protection Scheme.   Studios won't let them do otherwise.  Of the schemes that are out there, I would take Silverlight over Flash any day of the week.   Less CPU usage, lays back, no fake installs or bundled trash (see: Java).


trakt.tv

Ask Me about HTPC! (Threads in HTPC / PMs always responded to)

This signature is povided by MediaBrowser 3 Trakt Plugin: Media Browser 3


#86 of 125 Sam Posten

Sam Posten

    Moderator

  • 15,956 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 30 1997
  • Real Name:Sam Posten
  • LocationAberdeen, MD & Navesink, NJ

Posted February 11 2013 - 07:51 AM

Right, but it's still another attack vector. The alternative, of course, is a dedicated binary. I'd rather go that way.

I lost my signature and all I got was this Nutter t-shirt


#87 of 125 DaveF

DaveF

    Moderator

  • 13,352 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 04 2001
  • Real Name:David Fischer
  • LocationOne Loudoun, Ashburn, VA

Posted February 11 2013 - 03:54 PM

Apple TV and AirPlay? My preferred hub is Macally 7 port USB 2 only, so can't help there.

#88 of 125 Sam Posten

Sam Posten

    Moderator

  • 15,956 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 30 1997
  • Real Name:Sam Posten
  • LocationAberdeen, MD & Navesink, NJ

Posted February 12 2013 - 02:16 AM

You might be on to something! I will try that! I think I can airplay from the iPad direct to the iMac!

I lost my signature and all I got was this Nutter t-shirt


#89 of 125 Sam Posten

Sam Posten

    Moderator

  • 15,956 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 30 1997
  • Real Name:Sam Posten
  • LocationAberdeen, MD & Navesink, NJ

Posted March 14 2013 - 02:59 AM

I know a lot of the guys at Macrumors forum lamented the loss of the VESA mount, but not sure anyone here at HTF cares, but Apple has a special BTO with mount but no stand for $40 now: http://appleinsider....-for-40-premium

I lost my signature and all I got was this Nutter t-shirt


#90 of 125 Sam Posten

Sam Posten

    Moderator

  • 15,956 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 30 1997
  • Real Name:Sam Posten
  • LocationAberdeen, MD & Navesink, NJ

Posted May 02 2013 - 06:38 AM

Finally:

http://appleinsider....ptions-for-imac

 

I'm very happy with my Fusion Drive but if I were buying today I would get the 256GB SSD for apps and move my iTunes library to an external.  That's not practical for most folks tho, they really should just get the big fusion.


I lost my signature and all I got was this Nutter t-shirt


#91 of 125 Raul Marquez,MD

Raul Marquez,MD

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 249 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 02 2002
  • Real Name:Raul H. Marquez, MD
  • LocationSan Juan, Puerto Rico (USA)

Posted May 02 2013 - 08:00 AM

Sam,

What I'm just doing is moving my iTunes library to my new Drobo 5N (so far populated with 3 3TB WD Red and 1 2TB WD Red drives plus a 64GB mSATA card). I did not have the option of a Fusion Drive for my new iMac 27 since Apple does not ship computers to San Juan yet, and had to buy mine at Best Buy with the basic 1TB internal drive. However, I bought 8GB of RAM from OWC to boost it to 16GB.

Have you tried any USB 3.0 hubs? I've seen so many warnings of interference with other devices so I'm concerned. 

Take care.

Raul



#92 of 125 Carlo Medina

Carlo Medina

    Lead Actor

  • 9,577 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 31 1997

Posted May 02 2013 - 10:26 AM

Personally I'm glad to see this. I'm hoping they come out with a reasonable SSD solution for the upcoming Mac Pro as well. Ideally I'd need a 480/512GB SSD to hold the OS and programs like Adobe Creative Suite, Lightroom, Logic Pro, Pro Tools + Instrument Expansion Pack, all of which eat up tons of space [and quickly overfill 128GB and maybe even 256GB] but if I can get them all on the SSD portion my workflows would speed up tremendously.

 

Then I'd put all of my data, music, movies and RAW files on a separate mirrored 2x2TB RAID external thunderbolt drive (if I went with an iMac) or a mirror RAID internal set of drives in a Mac Pro to get maximum throughput and data security possible. 


Edited by Carlo Medina, May 02 2013 - 10:26 AM.


#93 of 125 Sam Posten

Sam Posten

    Moderator

  • 15,956 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 30 1997
  • Real Name:Sam Posten
  • LocationAberdeen, MD & Navesink, NJ

Posted May 02 2013 - 10:35 AM

Doc, you might wanna sit down for this shocker, but all USB 3 hubs pretty much suck.  They are inconsistent on providing power to devices like iPads which need extra juice, they prevent your system from sleeping, and other minor messes.

 

I bought this one:

http://www.amazon.co...0?ie=UTF8&psc=1

 

It constantly wakes my iMac and doesn't charge iPads.  Sigh.

 

I'm hopeful that the new Thunderbolt hub from belkin will be better:

http://www.imore.com..._medium=twitter

 

$300 but if it works it will be worth it.

 

Personally I just unplug all my externals and power em down.  It sucks.


I lost my signature and all I got was this Nutter t-shirt


#94 of 125 Raul Marquez,MD

Raul Marquez,MD

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 249 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 02 2002
  • Real Name:Raul H. Marquez, MD
  • LocationSan Juan, Puerto Rico (USA)

Posted May 02 2013 - 11:01 AM

Sam, 

 

Was this before or after the upgrade for your USB 3.0 hub?

 

"Update - Product Upgrade
I) The power adapter has been upgraded from 12V 2A to 12V 3A to provide a higher capacity power supply to your high-power devices.
II) We now incorporate the latest VIA VL812 chip for better power efficiency, lower operating temperatures, and broader compatibility."

 

I agree that preventing a Mac from going to sleep would be a deal breaker for me....

 

That Belkin Thunderport dock looks great! BUT $300?????

 

Raul


Edited by Raul Marquez,MD, May 02 2013 - 11:04 AM.


#95 of 125 Sam Posten

Sam Posten

    Moderator

  • 15,956 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 30 1997
  • Real Name:Sam Posten
  • LocationAberdeen, MD & Navesink, NJ

Posted May 02 2013 - 12:22 PM

After, which is why it is so disappointing.  I've pondered the possibility that I got an old stock one tho, so there's that...


I lost my signature and all I got was this Nutter t-shirt


#96 of 125 Sam Posten

Sam Posten

    Moderator

  • 15,956 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 30 1997
  • Real Name:Sam Posten
  • LocationAberdeen, MD & Navesink, NJ

Posted May 11 2013 - 09:06 AM

Stuck at white screen after thunderbolt firmware patch.  Wraaaaaa!


I lost my signature and all I got was this Nutter t-shirt


#97 of 125 Sam Posten

Sam Posten

    Moderator

  • 15,956 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 30 1997
  • Real Name:Sam Posten
  • LocationAberdeen, MD & Navesink, NJ

Posted September 24 2013 - 04:49 AM

Terrific update for late 2013.  780 level graphics as BTO?  Yum!

http://9to5mac.com/2...improved-flash/


I lost my signature and all I got was this Nutter t-shirt


#98 of 125 Sam Posten

Sam Posten

    Moderator

  • 15,956 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 30 1997
  • Real Name:Sam Posten
  • LocationAberdeen, MD & Navesink, NJ

Posted September 24 2013 - 06:55 AM

Big takeaways:

No 4k display this year, presumably implies no 4k Cinema Display when the Mac Pro launches?

1TB SSD is $1k instead of 768GB for $1300, MUCH more reasonable.


I lost my signature and all I got was this Nutter t-shirt


#99 of 125 Carlo Medina

Carlo Medina

    Lead Actor

  • 9,577 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 31 1997

Posted September 24 2013 - 07:53 AM

Wow - ok now I seriously (for monetary savings) have to consider an iMac. As Sam pointed out earlier (in either this or the Mac Pro thread) the reasons historically that I needed a Mac Pro are no longer relevant. With these new CPUs and GPUs (especially the 4GB 780) I think that the iMac will be plenty powerful enough to run all of my most power-hungry apps (Creative Suite, Logic Pro). I think the i7 + 780 + 512GB SSD just might be the ticket.

 

Now I just need to see some reviews and benchmarks confirm what I already know (and for some of the bugs to be worked out, as with all first-time implementations like 802.11ac there is likely to be some) and I think I know what I'm getting myself for Christmas. :D



#100 of 125 Sam Posten

Sam Posten

    Moderator

  • 15,956 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 30 1997
  • Real Name:Sam Posten
  • LocationAberdeen, MD & Navesink, NJ

Posted September 24 2013 - 09:53 AM

For your particular case I wouldn't make any purchase decisions until you see the BTO prices of the Mac Pro.  It could be a tough decision!  I'm certain the iMac is up to your tasks but since we are this close to launch you should wait IMO.


I lost my signature and all I got was this Nutter t-shirt





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users