Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

how to set up


  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 of 14 OFFLINE   tatts100

tatts100

    Auditioning



  • 6 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 03 2012

Posted November 04 2012 - 04:56 AM

hi how do i set up my samsung 3d blue ray home cinema system to play noise through all the speakers at the moment i can only get the front two to work this is how i have it set up virgin hd+ box into samsung home cinema system then cinema system to samsung 3d smart tv great picture but only 2 of 5 speakers with any sound hope anyone can help been at this 3 days now

#2 of 14 OFFLINE   Al.Anderson

Al.Anderson

    Screenwriter



  • 2,234 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 02 2002
  • Real Name:Al

Posted November 04 2012 - 06:39 AM

We could use at least a HT model#, and preferably a TV# too. A period or two wouldn't hurt either.

#3 of 14 OFFLINE   tatts100

tatts100

    Auditioning



  • 6 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 03 2012

Posted November 04 2012 - 07:46 AM

sorry tv is samsung ps51e550 51inch plasma 3d tv with a samsung 5.1 ch blue-ray home entertainment system ht5500 ,and virgin hd+ cable box,hope this helps

#4 of 14 OFFLINE   Steve Schaffer

Steve Schaffer

    Producer



  • 3,759 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 15 1999

Posted November 04 2012 - 09:08 AM

Do you get sound from all speakers when playing a Blu Ray disc?
Steve S.
I prefer not to push the subwoofers until they're properly run in.

#5 of 14 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert



  • 14,932 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted November 04 2012 - 09:16 AM

We need more info...

1. What sources are not working 5.1?
2. How is the Virgin HD box connected to the Samsung?

There are "other" questions beyond those two...but sort those two out first.

#6 of 14 OFFLINE   tatts100

tatts100

    Auditioning



  • 6 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 03 2012

Posted November 04 2012 - 09:48 AM

yes all speakers work from blue ray only when i watch cable just the front two work

#7 of 14 OFFLINE   tatts100

tatts100

    Auditioning



  • 6 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 03 2012

Posted November 04 2012 - 09:51 AM

yes 5.1 when i watch tv through virgin box only front two speakers give sound,the virgin box is connected to tv hdmi in i have tried it in blue ray no picture

#8 of 14 OFFLINE   tatts100

tatts100

    Auditioning



  • 6 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 03 2012

Posted November 04 2012 - 09:55 AM

sorry duff info virgin connected to hdmi in on blue ray

#9 of 14 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert



  • 14,932 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted November 04 2012 - 03:45 PM

What? I can't understand a thing you are saying. By the way, connecting the Virgin HD box to the TV, then sending the audio to the HTiB...you are only getting 2.0 that way. So it is working the way it is supposed to. I'm not downloading the manual for this thing to see if it has DPL, so I'll assume it does. Change your sound mode from "whatever you are using for BD"...to DPL. OR, you can connect the HDMI into the HTiB and change your input. That would be simpler.

#10 of 14 OFFLINE   tatts100

tatts100

    Auditioning



  • 6 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 03 2012

Posted November 04 2012 - 11:56 PM

the virgin box is not connected to tv its connected to blue ray player with hdmi lead into hdmi in port then blue ray is connected to tv with hdmi lead,i am sorry but i am not great on technical set ups all i want is a simple way to get sound from all my speakers when watching virgin channels

#11 of 14 OFFLINE   Al.Anderson

Al.Anderson

    Screenwriter



  • 2,234 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 02 2002
  • Real Name:Al

Posted November 05 2012 - 04:30 AM

the virgin box is not connected to tv its connected to blue ray player with hdmi lead into hdmi in port


The manual I found for the ht5500 indicates that there is no HDMI in. So please confirm your connections. The manual I used is here:
http://downloadcente...0_XAA_0915_Book[1].pdf

If the cable box HDMI is actually going to the TV, then you need to go get a optical cable to go from the TV to the ht5500. If the cable box has an optical output, try connecting from that to the ht5500 first.

Then you'll have to follow these instructions (page 24 of the manual) when you're watching cable.

Digital signal components such as a Cable Box/Satellite receiver (Set-Top Box).

1. Connect the Digital Input (OPTICAL) on the product to the Digital Output of the external digital
component.

Press the FUNCTION button to select D.IN input.

- The mode switches as follows : BD/DVD  D. IN  AUX  ONLINE  FM



#12 of 14 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert



  • 14,932 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted November 05 2012 - 05:28 AM

Yeah it would help to know which HTiB this is. I found the E5500. That one does have HDMI input.

#13 of 14 OFFLINE   Steve Schaffer

Steve Schaffer

    Producer



  • 3,759 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 15 1999

Posted November 05 2012 - 09:34 AM

Post deletec
Steve S.
I prefer not to push the subwoofers until they're properly run in.

#14 of 14 OFFLINE   Steve Schaffer

Steve Schaffer

    Producer



  • 3,759 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 15 1999

Posted November 05 2012 - 10:10 AM

According to the manual for the E5500 the "effects" button on the remote (bottom left button) should toggle the PLII function. The manual only mentions this working when using the L/R analog audio ins so it might not work with the HDMI input. The cable box may need to be set to output multichannel sound from it's HDMI output--it probably defaults to 2 channel pcm. If so you'd still have to engage PLII for channels not broadcast in 5.1 DD.
Steve S.
I prefer not to push the subwoofers until they're properly run in.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users