What's new

Just Beginning (1 Viewer)

jkhcurry

Auditioning
Real Name
James
So I'm just beginning in my home theater journey. Anyway I've been looking at best buy and realizing that new retail equipment is way too much money. Could anyone give me their thoughts on either buying something like the Marantz reciever or a box set like the Onkyo. I'd like to keep my budget under 700.
http://www.accessories4less.com/make-a-store/item/MARSR7001/Marantz-SR7001-Receiver-Thx-110w-X-7ch-Hdmi/1.html
http://www.accessories4less.com/make-a-store/item/ONKHTS8400/Onkyo-HT-S8400-7.1-Network-Theater-Package-w/ipod-dock/1.html
I talked to one of the sales guys at Accessories 4 less and he recommended the:
http://www.accessories4less.com/index.php?page=item&id=ONKHTS9400&extra=a%3A2%3A%7Bi%3A0%3Bs%3A40%3A%2203823345592a403b2f4a37a59384e7ab28f02be1%22%3Bi%3A1%3BN%3B%7D

jkhcurry

Auditioning
Real Name
James
So what I ended up buying was an Onkoyo HT-RC360 and Boston Acoustics SoundWare XS SE speakers...Will this be better than a 700 dollar out the box system from Bestbuy?

Jason Charlton

Ambassador
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Jason Charlton
Originally Posted by jkhcurry /t/324699/just-beginning#post_3996336
So what I ended up buying was an Onkoyo HT-RC360 and Boston Acoustics SoundWare XS SE speakers...Will this be better than a 700 dollar out the box system from Bestbuy?

James, sorry I missed your thread. Welcome to the forum!

The receiver is definitely a solid model. It will serve you better than just about any receiver from an all-in-one system. You can grow your system with that receiver, which is a good thing.

The speaker system is.. OK. I would say it's better than what you would get with an all-in-one system, and if small satellite-sized speakers were a priority for you, you certainly could have done a lot worse. If your room is small to medium sized, then even better. These may have a hard time filling a large space.