Jump to content



Sign up for a free account!

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests to win things like this Logitech Harmony Ultimate Remote and you won't get the popup ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Help please! :)


  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 of 13 MichaelKT

MichaelKT

    Auditioning

  • 7 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 22 2012

Posted September 22 2012 - 02:06 PM

So guys, I just bought a Samsung 40' 3DTV. At the back, there are 2 HDMI (1 is HDMI/DVI) ports, and a component/av in port. Now my 5.1 home theatre has 1 HDMI out and 1 Digital Optical In. I need help in making my PS3 play sounds in 5.1. Currently, My PS3 is connected to the HDMI/DVI of my TV. Then my home theatre is connected to the HDMI 2 of my TV. Still no sound. Why? Does it have to be like this; PS3 has a optical cable from PS3 to home theatre. (with HDMI connected to TV for picture.)?? Thanks!

#2 of 13 Steve Tannehill

Steve Tannehill

    Producer

  • 5,449 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 06 1997
  • Real Name:Steve Tannehill
  • LocationDFW

Posted September 22 2012 - 02:12 PM

Hi, Michael, welcome to HTF! I would plug HDMI from the PS3 to one of the HDMI *inputs* on your home theater receiver, then run the HDMI output of the home theater system to the TV. That way, you will deliver high-res sound to the receiver, and picture to the TV. The receiver becomes the hub of your system. All inputs should connect to it.

#3 of 13 MichaelKT

MichaelKT

    Auditioning

  • 7 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 22 2012

Posted September 22 2012 - 02:17 PM

i did this. but no audio is out. :(

#4 of 13 Steve Tannehill

Steve Tannehill

    Producer

  • 5,449 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 06 1997
  • Real Name:Steve Tannehill
  • LocationDFW

Posted September 22 2012 - 02:19 PM

There may be a setting on the PS3 for sound that you have to set for it to play over HDMI. If all else fails, you can run optical from the PS3 to the receiver, but you will miss out on high-res audio.

#5 of 13 schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert

  • 12,862 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted September 22 2012 - 02:22 PM

he said his HT does not have HDMI in... The way you have it connected, you have nothing going from PS3 to HTiB.

#6 of 13 MichaelKT

MichaelKT

    Auditioning

  • 7 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 22 2012

Posted September 22 2012 - 02:25 PM

isnt optical out supposed to be better? So, thats what I do right? PS3 to Home Theatre via Optical. PS3 is Optical out and Home Theatre is Optical in.

#7 of 13 schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert

  • 12,862 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted September 22 2012 - 02:30 PM

Optical doesn't carry lossless audio. But is this HTiB even capable of lossless? Better question... Is this HTiB a DVD/HTiB or a BD/HTiB? If it is BD, you don't care about lossless from the PS3.

#8 of 13 Steve Tannehill

Steve Tannehill

    Producer

  • 5,449 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 06 1997
  • Real Name:Steve Tannehill
  • LocationDFW

Posted September 22 2012 - 02:30 PM

So the receiver doesn't have HDMI inputs? Then you will have to use optical. You can get cheap but quality optical cables at Monoprice.com or Amazon Basic. HDMI is high-resolution. Optical is DTS core only or Dolby Digital, not high-resolution.

#9 of 13 MichaelKT

MichaelKT

    Auditioning

  • 7 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 22 2012

Posted September 22 2012 - 02:35 PM

im not really an audiophile anyways, so it doesnt matter. i just want the 5.1 to be working. :P its a DVD player/home theatre. and as i stated awhile ago, it only has optical in and hdmi out. :)

#10 of 13 MichaelKT

MichaelKT

    Auditioning

  • 7 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 22 2012

Posted September 22 2012 - 02:44 PM

not really an audiophile so I don't mind. Just want the 5.1 to be working. And the DVD player/ht has optical in and hdmi out as stated earlier. :)

#11 of 13 MichaelKT

MichaelKT

    Auditioning

  • 7 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 22 2012

Posted September 22 2012 - 05:27 PM

i plugged my ps3 to my home theatre, with an optical cable. still doesnt work.: |

#12 of 13 schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert

  • 12,862 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted September 22 2012 - 11:40 PM

Couple of things you need to do... Make sure you turn on the DEFAULT Dolby track on each disc. Because you bought a HTiB with limited capabilities, you have to deal with those limited abilities. HTiB are only intended to have a cable/sat box connected. OTA(which cable/sat count as OTA) is only Dolby Digital. There is no DTS...no "nothing else". So, go into your PS3 menu and see what settings there are(I don't own one so if you can "do this once", great. If you have to do this for every disc, you are the one trying to do something with your HTiB that wasn't intended).

#13 of 13 gene c

gene c

    Producer

  • 5,675 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 05 2003
  • Real Name:Gene
  • LocationBay area, Ca

Posted September 23 2012 - 03:59 AM

What make and model number is the htib and also which PS3 do you have (there were a couple of different ones). Some of the older htib's didn't apply 5.1 to external sources, only it's internal dvd player.
"Everyday room": Panasonic 58" Plasma, Dish HD DVR, Pioneer Elite vsx-23, BDP-23 BR, dv58avi universal dvd player, Paradigm Studio 20 V1, CC-450, Dayton HSU-10 subwoofer.

"Movie/Music room": Toshiba 65" DLP, Dish HD receiver, Marantz 7005, CC-4003, BD-7006, Polk LSI25's-LSi7's-LSiC, 2 original Dayton 10" "Mighty-Mites" subwoofers. (subject to change without notice).
 
Also have  MB Quart Vera VS05 +.....too much to list. Help me.
 
 

 





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users