-

Photo

Tutorial: Moving from the iPhone to Android without totally destroying the Apple Ecosystem

• Please log in to reply
91 replies to this topic

#1 of 92 Ronald Epstein

Ronald Epstein

Studio Mogul

• 39,529 posts

Posted September 09 2012 - 06:24 AM

For those of you looking to switch from the iPhone to the Galaxy S3, don't be intimidated that you will lose the ecosystem you had in place with your other Apple devices.   That was the biggest fear I had a week ago until I learned all the workarounds that would make my Galaxy S3 sync perfectly with my Apple devices.   I'm still new at all this, so I am here as a student with all of you.  I'll start this thread, but I will rely on others here to give their tips as well as correct any mistakes I may have made on the advice I am giving all of you.   I will mention the Galaxy S3 specifically in this tutorial, but it works for most all Android devices.   Syncing your Apple Mail   I am guessing everyone has an iCloud email account.  On the Galaxy S3, GMAIL is the standard email client, but it can easily be set up as an iMap account to perfectly sync your email.  Yes, when you delete mail on your phone it also deletes it on all your Apple devices.  Even your Apple email subfolders get carried over as well.   Here are the instructions on setting up an iCloud iMap account on GMAIL:     Verify that you are using the correct server credentials:   IMAP (Incoming Mail Server) information:   Server name: imap.mail.me.com SSL Required: Yes Port: 993 Username: example@me.com (use your @me.com address from your iCloud account) Password: Your iCloud password     SMTP (outgoing mail server) information:   Server name: smtp.mail.me.com SSL Required: Yes Port: 587 SMTP Authentication Required: Yes Username: example@me.com (use your @me.com address from your iCloud account) Password: Your iCloud password   Note: If you receive errors using SSL, try using TLS instead.   Additional Information SSL is required for both IMAP and SMTP