Jump to content



Sign up for a free account!

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests to win things like this Logitech Harmony Ultimate Remote and you won't get the popup ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Sound output from samsung smart tv


  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
34 replies to this topic

#21 of 35 Finster

Finster

    Auditioning

  • 5 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 27 2013
  • Real Name:Art Schwabenbauer

Posted December 28 2013 - 06:52 AM

Jason, my Samsung TV model number is UN55F6300AFXZA; hope that helps and thanks for your feedback.  Does the "trapping" of audio by internal apps also explain the reduced volume that I'm experiencing?



#22 of 35 schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert

  • 12,885 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted December 28 2013 - 07:16 AM

Turning the volume up in the TV is a requirement if you want line-level output.

Does your TV not have fixed setting? If not, yep, turn the volume all the way up.

#23 of 35 gmneary13

gmneary13

    Auditioning

  • 2 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 27 2013
  • Real Name:Grace

Posted January 04 2014 - 08:25 PM

I had to pick up an audio optical cable and plugged it in to get the NETFLIX sound to work and it is working fine except I have to turn up the sound on the BOSE system louder from about 18 when watching everything else to about 30 when wanting NETFLIX sound.  I am still looking for that fix.  You have to remember to go into your SURROUND sound system and tell it what port is the optical cable coming out and it works fine...frustrating that the sound is so low and I have to turn it up.


Edited by gmneary13, January 04 2014 - 08:26 PM.


#24 of 35 cirefont

cirefont

    Auditioning

  • 2 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 28 2012

Posted January 04 2014 - 10:12 PM

I have a Samsung LED SMART TV UN46ES6150F I bought from Costco in November of 2012.  I recently upgraded my Receiver and would like to be able to play my streaming content, Netflix, pandora or my computer media files in another room through the allshare app.  Basically anything that is sourced from the TV, not an external box.

 

I bought a Digital Audio Optical cable and connected it to my tv and to my receiver.  When I go to menu->sound->speaker settings the speaker select option has ben grayed out. Is this something that can be turned on in the service mode settings?  I had to turn on my clear motion through those setting as well, but i don't see anything that would allow an external speaker in the service mode settings.  Any help would be appreciated.

 

Thanks,

Attached Thumbnails

  • speaker select.JPG


#25 of 35 schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert

  • 12,885 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted January 05 2014 - 04:48 AM

Many TV do not let the "app audio" out.

In that screen, are you on an HDMI, the tuner...??

You may have to go into settings to activate the toslink first.

Your other will be, can this TV digest DTS or(If you got any) DD+.

Very few TV can, which is why the internet is littered with...

"Using X TV and I have no sound with DTS".

#26 of 35 cirefont

cirefont

    Auditioning

  • 2 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 28 2012

Posted January 05 2014 - 09:34 AM

I've tried HDMI and my Component inputs. I'm never able to get the option to select an external speaker. Or even be able to mute the TV internal speaker.

Where is the "toslink" option? And what does that do?
Thanks

#27 of 35 schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert

  • 12,885 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted January 05 2014 - 12:51 PM

In your OM, the Toslink is under the SDPIF settings.

 

The "just about worthless" online manual just says "choose your settings there".

 

So...go there and mess with those settings, whatever those settings are. Page 101 of the "online universal OM" on Samstung's website.



#28 of 35 SugaBooga

SugaBooga

    Auditioning

  • 7 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 28 2014
  • Real Name:Yolanda

Posted January 28 2014 - 06:59 PM

Hi everyone,

Let me just start off by asking you all to be patient and gentle with me.  My husband used to do all of these things and now I'm on my own.  A "newbie" I guess you could say.  I've got a brand new set up because I am trying to save money and I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong. :huh:  :huh:  The geek squad was going to charge me some outrageous price to help me but I use the internet a lot so I knew If I could just find the right forum, I could get some instructions.  YOU all are so very knowledgeable but this tech talk is like you're speaking a foreign language.

 

I have a  NEW samsung Smart TV (it really is smart) - It has 2 HDMI ports( HDMI In-Arc 2 and HDMI 1 Dvi)

Model # UN50ES6100

I have a NEW Tivo Roamio (1 regular HDMI)

I have a Panasonic 5.1 theatre in a box(Model# Panasonic SA PT770)

Wii U (HDMI out and AV Multi Out) they look the same to me

 

Do I need to have 5 HDMI cords?

 

My husband would have been able to figure it out, but I can't. :blink:  :blink:   I can't get the sound to come through from the TV apps.  I have a basic cable service and I'd also like to use the Verizon/Redbox app that is on the tv.  I don't go out much so I like to rent movies.  But I can't hear the tv apps through the home theater.  Can you walk me step by step on what to do.  My recently divorced daughter and grandkids are moving in this weekend and I want everything to be set up for them when they get here.  I want to surprise them so I got a Wii U too as well as an Ipad.  Grandma SugaBooga is smarter than your average bear. ;)  


  • Ron1973 likes this

#29 of 35 schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert

  • 12,885 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted January 28 2014 - 07:49 PM

The number 1 problem with HTiB is lack of functionality.

Your HTiB only has 1 digital input. You have 3 devices.

The TV, TiVo and WiiU will all have to have a toslink connection, via a 3-1 switch, to the HTiB.

What is toslink?
That is the digital input your HTiB has.

You have no other options...because of the HTiB.

#30 of 35 SugaBooga

SugaBooga

    Auditioning

  • 7 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 28 2014
  • Real Name:Yolanda

Posted January 29 2014 - 10:07 PM

I'm sorry, I didn't mean to post here.  If you could tell me how to delete that post#29, I will gladly do so.



#31 of 35 schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert

  • 12,885 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted January 30 2014 - 07:03 AM

Don't worry about it.

You actually did it "more correct" than the vast majority of first time posters...(you searched for a relevant thread)

Kudos on that.

#32 of 35 mlwinnig

mlwinnig

    Auditioning

  • 2 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 22 2013
  • Real Name:Marc Lee

Posted April 30 2014 - 05:15 PM

ARC worked for me!

Sammy PN64F8500 plasma and Denon AVR-3312 both have 2 HDMI's which support ARC.

Bonuses: Uverse and TV remotes now power on/off TV & AVR and volume control AVR. Screen share now working too! Anynet support in both seems to be a factor. ARC connection was required to get receiver option back for audio output on tv. Smart TV not so dumb anymore! Thanks all for help!

#33 of 35 Lilmosquito

Lilmosquito

    Auditioning

  • 1 posts
  • Join Date: May 22 2014
  • Real Name:Kathy

Posted May 22 2014 - 09:11 AM

Oh I hope you can help!  Having a similar problem with Netflix.  I recently bought a Panasonic Smart Tv and have hooked up my external amp via toslink/analogue converter and I can get sound through the speakers fine on everything, including other streaming apps via the tv.  The only problem is with Netflix..when I watch it now the sound is horribly distorted, though when I turn the tvs internal speakers on I can hear the normal audio running alongside.  I dont want to have Netflix be the only thing I have to listen to through the internal tv speakers...really grateful for any help!



#34 of 35 PhilJonesCRS

PhilJonesCRS

    Auditioning

  • 2 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 17 2014
  • Real Name:Philip N Jones Jr

Posted June 17 2014 - 02:46 PM

The problem: Samsung Smart TV apps would only give sound through the tinny TV speakers. There was no way to get sound to a receiver of or external speakers. All cabling solutions including ARC and optical cable were tried.

 

The solution: After 5 hours of search this forum and others, nothing worked. Finally used chat on Samsung's support page. 1.5 hours later:

 

George M: I will provide you with the steps to reset the complete TV.
George M: The TV will get back to factory defaults after the reset.
George M: Go to Menu>>Support>>Self Diagnosis>>Reset. The default pin will be 0000.

 

This did it. Everything works fine. Because everything was wiped, I had to reset the speakers as external and output as digital (optical).

Happiness. After 6.5 hours, this was the ONLY thing that actually worked. When in doubt (on ANY type of computer), REBOOT. In this case, reset to defaults.

 

You will need your password info for sites that require it (like Netflix).  You wiped everything, remember?

 

Also you will need to reset to external speakers, etc.

 

Enjoy!



#35 of 35 FoxyMulder

FoxyMulder

    映画ファン

  • 4,162 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 14 2009
  • Real Name:Malcolm
  • LocationScotland

Posted June 17 2014 - 02:50 PM

 

The solution: After 5 hours of search this forum and others, nothing worked. Finally used chat on Samsung's support page. 1.5 hours later:

 

This did it. Everything works fine. Because everything was wiped, I had to reset the speakers as external and output as digital (optical).

Happiness. 

 

I guess you didn't read my post, that's post 12 on page 1 of this thread, i said the exact same thing, output via optical and mute TV speakers by selecting external, go read it if you don't believe me, you could have saved yourself all those hours.

 

If you originally tried this and it didn't work for you then there has to have been an issue with your television that resetting everything fixed, the above procedure is still correct for those that have no other technical faults with their TV, resetting everything is a last resort and should only be done when using an optical cable and selecting external speakers does not work.


     :Fun Movie Quotes:

"A good body with a dull brain is as cheap as life itself"   

"Maybe it's a sheep dog... let's keep going" 

"Please doctor, I've got to ask this. It sounds like, well, just as though you're describing some form of super carrot"

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users