-

Jump to content



Photo
- - - - -

Still 5.1?


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
11 replies to this topic

#1 of 12 OFFLINE   emperor76

emperor76

    Extra

  • 15 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 08 2012

Posted August 09 2012 - 02:52 AM

Hi all, I have a Samsung blu ray 5.1 surround system and I have just noticed that if I connect the optical cable from the digital out on the t.v to the optical input on the surround system and set the sound on my computer to HDMI everything connected to the t.v via HDMI comes through the surround system on the digital in setting, is it still possible for me to get full 5.1 from my pc and sky box this way?

#2 of 12 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    Executive Producer

  • 13,881 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted August 09 2012 - 03:37 AM

Nope. The only thing 5.1 from 99.5% of all HDMI equipped TV's is the OTA tuner itself. The APPs(since we don't know which TV you got) are all in 2.0 as well. It is in your owners manual.

#3 of 12 OFFLINE   emperor76

emperor76

    Extra

  • 15 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 08 2012

Posted August 09 2012 - 03:53 AM

Thanks for the reply, sorry it's a Samsung 32" LCD le32a436, as you can probably tell I am a beginner in the department and just working things out as I go along, I had it set up with the optical from the sky box and the pc through auxiliary usually and occasionally swapped the optical over when I wanted better sound on the pc, looks like I will be reverting to this annoying set up again. I have been toying with the idea of using an optical switch but can't shake the idea that it would detract from the sound quality

#4 of 12 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    Executive Producer

  • 13,881 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted August 09 2012 - 04:17 AM

OR... http://www.amazon.co...=toslink switch

#5 of 12 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    Executive Producer

  • 13,881 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted August 09 2012 - 04:21 AM

Or... http://www.amazon.co...=toslink switch

#6 of 12 OFFLINE   emperor76

emperor76

    Extra

  • 15 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 08 2012

Posted August 09 2012 - 04:29 AM

Yeah, that's what I have been thinking of doing for a while, it's just when I am sat watching something, in the back of my mind will always be "I wonder if the sound was better without the switch", i'm sure this is just complete paranoia as it even says in the description there is no loss in sound quality

#7 of 12 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    Executive Producer

  • 13,881 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted August 09 2012 - 04:36 AM

Digital is digital transmission. Besides, if you'd rather buy overkill... http://www.amazon.co...=toslink switch Besides, you have a 5.1 BD "system"...which one? Is it a 500w PMPO? A 1000w PMPO? An actual receiver based HTiB?(which I doubt)

#8 of 12 OFFLINE   emperor76

emperor76

    Extra

  • 15 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 08 2012

Posted August 09 2012 - 05:45 AM

It's a Samsung HT-D4500, not the greatest but money is an issue and I got this for £250 which I thought was a pretty good deal, I could have got a Panasonic 3D blu ray for the same price but I like Samsung.

#9 of 12 OFFLINE   emperor76

emperor76

    Extra

  • 15 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 08 2012

Posted August 09 2012 - 05:52 AM

Ideally I would have loved to have separates as I have heard they are the best, unfortunately that would cost a lot of money which I don't have so upon spotting this in curry's for £250 on offer I thought, bonus! as my previous Samsung surround system had no optical input, no Blu ray, and 500 watts less, so at long last I was able to get my pc in surround and on the living room t.v. But yes ideally you are right, it would be great to have separates.

#10 of 12 OFFLINE   Robert_J

Robert_J

    Lead Actor

  • 8,154 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 22 2000
  • Real Name:Robert
  • LocationMississippi

Posted August 09 2012 - 07:21 AM

500 watts less

Ignore the wattage rating on almost every setup you look at. 99% of the time they are meaningless.

#11 of 12 OFFLINE   emperor76

emperor76

    Extra

  • 15 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 08 2012

Posted August 09 2012 - 07:48 AM

I didn't actually know this but it seems to be backed up else where

#12 of 12 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    Executive Producer

  • 13,881 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted August 09 2012 - 10:07 AM

Anytime you see PMPO...it doesn't mean anything. It is like trying to say the new FIAT 500 will do 300mph... What they fail to mention is... It is the "body" of the car strapped to a jet pack...and it would survive it once.