Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Bose Lifestyle 18 with Acoustimass 25


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
6 replies to this topic

#1 of 7 OFFLINE   arav1605

arav1605

    Auditioning



  • 4 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 07 2012

Posted August 07 2012 - 03:42 PM

Hi All, Sorry, I am new to this forum and apologies if this is a repeat question. I had a Bose Lifestyle 12 Series II Home Theater which is working pretty good. One of my friends was going back to India and he has left me a Bose Lifestyle 18 DVD Player. When I connected my Acoustimass 25 Subwoofer to the Lifestyle 18 system there is no sound at all. But when I plug in a ear phone to the Bose Lifestyle 18 system i can hear just fine. So my question is, is the Bose Lifestyle 18 compatible with the Acoustimass 25 Power Subwoofer? Any help is highly appretiated and thanks in advance Thanks Aravind

#2 of 7 OFFLINE   NickSI

NickSI

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 191 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 16 2004

Posted August 07 2012 - 04:05 PM

I tried looking at the connections but it seems that the lifestyle 18 uses a multi pin round connector to output sound? The AMass 25 looks like it has a couple of coaxial ins... Doesn't look like they are going to mate up but I might have it wrong. Could you upload pics of the ports on both the DVD and the AMass? I don't have anything Bose and my guess is you wont find anyone here who does ( nothing satellite based anyways). Those pics could be the key to figuring out how to hook these up.
Ciao

(if there is a $200 reciever or integrated amp in your basement collecting dust or even in your living room collecting dust lemme know ill take it off your hands)

#3 of 7 OFFLINE   arav1605

arav1605

    Auditioning



  • 4 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 07 2012

Posted August 07 2012 - 05:49 PM

Thanks for your reply. I am attaching the PICS as requested by you. Please let me know

#4 of 7 OFFLINE   NickSI

NickSI

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 191 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 16 2004

Posted August 08 2012 - 12:34 AM

ok does the cord you have fit into the 9 pin main right below the power plug in and the 13 pin on the AMass? or were you using RCA cables somehow?
Ciao

(if there is a $200 reciever or integrated amp in your basement collecting dust or even in your living room collecting dust lemme know ill take it off your hands)

#5 of 7 OFFLINE   arav1605

arav1605

    Auditioning



  • 4 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 07 2012

Posted August 08 2012 - 02:53 AM

Hi, I have connected the cable from the main socket below the power to the 13 pin amass. Thanks

#6 of 7 OFFLINE   NickSI

NickSI

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 191 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 16 2004

Posted August 08 2012 - 03:38 AM

ok then you have it setup correctly, either you have a bad cord... or they are incompatible. Because the connection is multi pin like that think of it more as a computer signal. And whatever the DVD player is saying the AMass isn't understanding. Sorry I can't be of more help, maybe a dedicated bose forum might have some answers?
Ciao

(if there is a $200 reciever or integrated amp in your basement collecting dust or even in your living room collecting dust lemme know ill take it off your hands)

#7 of 7 OFFLINE   arav1605

arav1605

    Auditioning



  • 4 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 07 2012

Posted August 08 2012 - 03:47 AM

Thank you so much for your help. The cable is good because it still works with the LS12 CD Player. Do you know of any such dedicated Bose forums? Thanks