-

Jump to content



Photo
- - - - -

Issues with number of speakers used displayed on Yamaha receiver


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
5 replies to this topic

#1 of 6 DEDAWID

DEDAWID

    Auditioning

  • 3 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 05 2012

Posted August 05 2012 - 06:44 AM

We have a Yamaha HTR-6130 AV receiver. When we first bought it, we had a regular TV, no digital, but when we played a DVD, it showed all 5 speakers being "used" on the receiver. Recently we bought a new digital TV and we also now have satelite with HD, but no matter what we play the receiver will only show 2 speakers being used. I even tried a DVD I KNOW played with 5 speakers before and it's also only showing 2 speakers used. This may be a repetative question, but we are so frustrated at why we used to have it and now we do not, any suggestions?

#2 of 6 schan1269

schan1269

    Executive Producer

  • 13,652 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted August 05 2012 - 06:55 AM

Well, more info... Connections in use? You switched sound modes? (dolby prologic always shows 5 speaker if the set-up is 5 speakers) If I remember correctly (as I had the 5490 and 6080) DPL had both "tv/movie and music" settings.

#3 of 6 DEDAWID

DEDAWID

    Auditioning

  • 3 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 05 2012

Posted August 05 2012 - 09:34 AM

I have switched sound mode and switched back and forth and on and on, I have used the digital optical cable, more then 1 hdmi cable and looked at the BLU RAY book, the TV book and the RECEIVER book, I think my brain is fried on what the heck to do, someone said that if you don't see 5 speakers, then what you are playing is not in 5.1, but I KNOW this movie I am watching is 5.1 - - I could go on and on and on with all we have done, I tried this forum just as another resort, I am sure that just "people" would be able to give me more ideas then we are getting at the stores we go to and ask about it - - thank you for responding :)

#4 of 6 gene c

gene c

    Producer

  • 5,699 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 05 2003
  • Real Name:Gene
  • LocationBay area, Ca

Posted August 05 2012 - 10:35 AM

The speaker display on the front panel doesn't show the speakers being used by the receiver, it shows the speakers being sent by the source player. If only two channels are showing up on the display then the receiver is only receiving two channels from the player, box, whatever. You say you bought a new tv. Most displays will only output a two channel stereo signal regardless of what it receives. As Sam already asked, we need to know exactly how, where, and with what cables you have everything hooked up. The model numbers of the display and dvd/br players would also be a big help so we can download the manuals. But if you hook all components to the receiver with a digital cable (doesn't matter which kind) for audio then you will get true 5.1 surround sound again if the settings in the players and receiver are correct. Don't hook any audio up to the display first and then to the receiver. It probably won't work right. Hang in there. We'll help you through it.
"Everyday room": Panasonic 58" Plasma, Dish HD DVR, Pioneer Elite vsx-23, BDP-23 BR, dv58avi universal dvd player, Paradigm Studio 20 V1, CC-450, Dayton HSU-10 subwoofer.

"Movie/Music room": Toshiba 65" DLP, Dish HD receiver, Marantz 7005, CC-4003, BD-7006, Polk LSI25's-LSi7's-LSiC, 2 original Dayton 10" "Mighty-Mites" subwoofers. (subject to change without notice).
 
Also have  MB Quart Vera VS05 +.....too much to list. Help me.
 
 

 


#5 of 6 DEDAWID

DEDAWID

    Auditioning

  • 3 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 05 2012

Posted August 05 2012 - 02:03 PM

my husband and I will pull the stuff out in the next couple of days and see exactly how and what is hooked up and where and I'll get back with you all and thanks again for trying to help

#6 of 6 schan1269

schan1269

    Executive Producer

  • 13,652 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted August 05 2012 - 02:22 PM

Just so everybody helping out on this receiver knows... The HDMI is pass-through, so the audio comes off "other connections"... I have a feeling what the problem is the DVD player reverted back to "stereo mode" and needs re-set for 5.1. But we need to know what BD/DVD player this is. It is also, like mentioned above, to make sure the audio isn't going to the TV first, then back to the receiver.