-

Jump to content



Sign up for a free account!

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and you won't get the popup ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

New tv has no audio outputs at all.


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
5 replies to this topic

#1 of 6 Jordan33

Jordan33

    Auditioning

  • 2 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 24 2012

Posted July 24 2012 - 05:40 AM

Hey everyone, so I got a new TV the other day and I love it! Its a 40" Samsung 550 lcd 1080p and it has no audio outputs! No RCA outputs, optical output or even a headphone jack. So im just wondering what I could do. Thanks everyone

#2 of 6 Jordan33

Jordan33

    Auditioning

  • 2 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 24 2012

Posted July 24 2012 - 05:43 AM

And yes im certain it doesn't have any outputs I even called Samsung

#3 of 6 schan1269

schan1269

    Executive Producer

  • 13,175 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted July 24 2012 - 05:48 AM

Samsung really made a TV like that? Not that I'm really shocked by them. Your only option is to buy an audio device that then sends the video to the TV. What model is this so I can steer people away from it?

#4 of 6 Mark:F

Mark:F

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 169 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 14 2003

Posted July 24 2012 - 05:51 AM

Samsung web site specs for the 550 show optical audio output plus audio out mini jack.

#5 of 6 Jason Charlton

Jason Charlton

    Screenwriter

  • 2,860 posts
  • Join Date: May 16 2002
  • Real Name:Jason Charlton
  • LocationBaltimore, MD

Posted July 24 2012 - 06:00 AM

A specific model number would help - a comparison on their site shows that the LN40D550K1FXZA does have a digital optical out, but the LN40E550F7FXZA does not have a digital out.


What device are you trying to connect it to (again, model numbers help)?  If it's a low-end HTiB system that lacks HDMI inputs, you're probably stuck.


For multi-source home theater/surround sound setups, the TV should not be the hub of the system.  That is what A/V receivers are for.


Are you new to the Home Theater Forum? Stop by the New Member Introductions area and introduce yourself! See you there!


#6 of 6 seditious3

seditious3

    Auditioning

  • 5 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 25 2012

Posted July 25 2012 - 06:40 AM

Please describe how you are hooking up/wiring the TV and components. do you have a cable or satellite box? Do you have a receiver?