What's new

Onkyo HT-S3500 (1 Viewer)

Spottedfeather

Stunt Coordinator
Real Name
Matt
I'm just getting into surround sound and was wondering about the setup I just got. It's the Onkyo HT-S3500. From what I've read, this is one of the best of these "home theater in a box" type of setups. Is this true ? I won't be using it until next week, so I was wondering if anyone here knows about it and if it's really as good as the reviews I've seen. The receiver, from what I can find, is the HT-R391...if that helps.

gene c

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Gene
Onkyo's aren't really htib's they're receiver/speaker packages which is why they are thought to be better. With a htib if one part breaks you pretty much have to replace the entire thing since all of the components are designed to work with each other and nothing else. With the Onkyo you can replace the speakers or the sub or the receiver with just about anything else out there. You do have to buy a seperate bluray player though.
As for the 3500, the main drawbacks are it has a passive subwoofer, meaning it's powered by the receiver, and it doesn't include Audyssey room correction/automatic setup feature which can be real beneficial. And with any of these the speakers are the weak link. But Onkyo's are still a real good over all value and the perfect system for a first time purchase. The 5500 (or last years 5400) would have been worth the extra cost.
Ac4l.com has the 5400 as a factory reurbished model (with one year warranty) for $249 + sh http://www.accessories4less.com/make-a-store/item/ONKHTS5400/Onkyo-HT-S5400-7.1-Channel-Home-Theater-Package-w/USB-ipod/iphone/1.html

schan1269

HTF Expert
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Sam
The 3300/3400/3500 are nothing to write home about.
Spend the little bit extra on the "next one up"...5300/5400/5500...