-

Jump to content



Photo
- - - - -

No sound from TV's WiFi contect using ARC port-receiver's Monitor ARC port. Optical cable required?


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
7 replies to this topic

#1 of 8 OFFLINE   Mystyc

Mystyc

    Auditioning

  • 8 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 01 2012

Posted July 02 2012 - 12:55 AM

I have a Panasonic Viera TCP65VT50 hooked to a Denon AVR1912 using the monitor ARC port on the receiver with an HDMI to the ARC port on the TV. Cable signal coming into the SAT/CAB port on the receiver. TV programming works great. But when I access WiFi content through the TV, no sound comes down to the receiver (I still here the cable signal audio; there's no select button for the Monitor port to force the receiver to listen to that HDMI (which should be two-way, correct?). Panasonic says the TV doesn't "see" the receiver on that line, so the home theater choices are greyed out in the menu. They seem to think I should be feeding the broadcast signal through the TV; don't know what that has to do with WiFi output. They also say they "think" WiFi audio will go out an optical cable,, but should also be going out the ARC line to the ARC receiver input. Using an optical cable is the only thing I haven't tried yet. Any ideas on how these new-fangled TV's work with built-in WiFi ? Thanks in advance !!! Eileen

#2 of 8 OFFLINE   Al.Anderson

Al.Anderson

    Screenwriter

  • 2,181 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 02 2002
  • Real Name:Al

Posted July 02 2012 - 03:45 AM

The fact that you can hear the cable signal audio makes me think that you didn't set the Denon to "TV". Also, the Denon should have had 'HDMI Control' set to "on" during set-up.

#3 of 8 OFFLINE   Mystyc

Mystyc

    Auditioning

  • 8 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 01 2012

Posted July 02 2012 - 04:16 AM

The Input setup doesn't provide a choice for the Monitor port, which is where the TV is hooked up. Although it's an ARC port, I'm thinking you have to select it in order for the receiver to listen to it, but I don't see any way to choose it. Should I cable the TV in-between the cable box and the receiver's "SAT/Cable" port with an HDMI ?

#4 of 8 OFFLINE   Mystyc

Mystyc

    Auditioning

  • 8 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 01 2012

Posted July 02 2012 - 04:27 AM

NEVER MIND; IT WORKED !! I TURNED ON HDMI CONTROL AND IT AUTOMATICALLY FIXED THE PROBLEM, NO NEED TO "SELECT TV." NOW I CAN LISTEN TO WIFI CONTENT WITHOUT DOING ANYTHING (I THINK !). THANK YOU !!!

#5 of 8 OFFLINE   Mystyc

Mystyc

    Auditioning

  • 8 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 01 2012

Posted July 02 2012 - 05:03 AM

Okay, I turned on HDMI control in the Denon, and the sound worked from WiFi until I turned everything off. When we turned it back on, we now have no sound from cable !!! Either I've done something wrong or we need to rework it. Ideas?

#6 of 8 OFFLINE   Mystyc

Mystyc

    Auditioning

  • 8 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 01 2012

Posted July 02 2012 - 05:09 AM

Never mind; we turned the receiver of and on again, and now it's working GREAT !! THANK YOU VERY MUCH !

#7 of 8 OFFLINE   Mystyc

Mystyc

    Auditioning

  • 8 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 01 2012

Posted July 03 2012 - 06:50 AM

Everything was working after I set up HDMI control to ON in the Denon, UNTIL I turned it off. When I turned it back on USING THE VERIZON REMOTE (with the Denon code), it didn't have sound again !! When I turned it off and on again USING THE DENON REMOTE, the sound came back ! BTW, in the INPUT SET menu, under INPUT ASSIGN, next to "TV" there are only dashes (------) in the HDMI column. I don't see any way to "select TV" in the Denon. The TV is connected to the ARC ports on both units with an HDMI. Internet content now has audio to the receiver, BUT ONLY WHEN I TURN ON THE RECEIVER WITH IT'S REMOTE CONTROL. I don't get it. Ideas? Eileen

#8 of 8 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    Executive Producer

  • 13,881 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted July 04 2012 - 07:46 AM

Be thankful on your TV you get the "net" content out via HDMI. Ours doesn't support that(also a Panny) and the "net" has to be played over the internal speakers.