What's new

Too Many Buttons (1 Viewer)

Badger

Auditioning
Real Name
Phil
Hi All
Just thought I'd say a quick hello and howaya.
Always a few steps behind in technical terms, my better half and I are just now thinking about dipping our toes into the surround soundy waters of a home theatre system and it seemed a rather good idea to come visit your hallowed halls and see if we could soak up any of the collective wisdom floating around the forum pages.
Sadly I am not very technical at all and while She Who Must be Obeyed is a little better, it's not by much. Generally in life I find that there are too many buttons to remember on too many gadgets. But sometimes they just have to be pressed right? So I'm hoping that at least some of the info I find is Badger friendly. :)
Anyway, enough of my waffle.
Yours
Badger

Jason Charlton

Ambassador
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Jason Charlton
Welcome Phil!

No doubt it can be daunting to "jump" into uncharted waters - it seems the more our electronic gadgets try to "simplify" our lives, the more complicated they actually become.

In my experience (both in life and on this forum) I have found that things get overly "complicated" as a result of two main factors:
1) Trying to use a mix of older, outdated technology with the new fangled stuff
2) A failure to understand that when you decide to go "home theater" the TV is no longer the center of the universe - your receiver is.

I would also suggest a "2a" would be not taking the time to research and find the equipment that satisfies your needs, but this forum is the right place to help prevent that from happening.

If you've explored the forum at all, I'm sure you've noticed that we have specialized sections for individual components as well as our "beginner's" that's sort of a catch-all. I see you've already made another post - perhaps already in the beginner's area - probably the best place for you to start. Folks will ask about your goals and budget to get started.