Jump to content



Photo
- - - - -

No sound through receiver, but get picture/video


  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 of 4 haiiyaa

haiiyaa

    Newbie

  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 28 2012

Posted April 28 2012 - 08:57 AM

Hi, I am not able to get any sound through my Teac AG-D2000 receiver, when the cable box is connected through it using HDMI. So the connection is, my cable box is connected via HDMI to my Teac receiver into the HDMI DTV/CBL input. The HDMI monitor out connects to the TV. I don't get any sound through the speakers connected to the receiver. However, I do get sound through the TV, which I find strange. On the receiver I set the the input to Digital and that didn't help either. Any ideas on what I am missing?

#2 of 4 gartronics

gartronics

    Advanced Member

  • PipPipPip
  • 101 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 10 2007

Posted April 28 2012 - 05:24 PM

Sounds to me like the cable box is outputting a signal that the receiver can't decode and is just passing it to the tv which can decode the signal. I would suggest looking at audio output settings in the menu of the cable box and play with the different settings until you find one that the receiver will decode. If that don't work you may have to use the analog audio ports on the cable box to hook up the receiver. Hope this helps you.

#3 of 4 gene c

gene c

    Advanced Member

  • PipPipPip
  • 5,650 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 05 2003
  • Real Name:Gene
  • LocationBay area, Ca

Posted April 29 2012 - 02:35 AM

I think that teac model is a video switcher only through hdmi. It doesn't decode audio via hdmi. You have to use the optical connection (or analog) for audio.
"Everyday room": Panasonic 58" Plasma, Dish HD DVR, Pioneer Elite vsx-23, BDP-23 BR, dv58avi universal dvd player, Paradigm Studio 20 V1, CC-450, Dayton HSU-10 subwoofer.

"Movie/Music room": Toshiba 65" DLP, Dish HD receiver, Marantz 7005, CC-4003, BD-7006, Polk LSI25's-LSi7's-LSiC, 2 original Dayton 10" "Mighty-Mites" subwoofers. (subject to change without notice).
 
Also have  MB Quart Vera VS05 +.....too much to list. Help me.
 
 

 


#4 of 4 haiiyaa

haiiyaa

    Newbie

  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 28 2012

Posted April 29 2012 - 08:20 AM

I think that teac model is a video switcher only through hdmi. It doesn't decode audio via hdmi. You have to use the optical connection (or analog) for audio.

I do get sound through the cd/tape hdmi input, and the optical cable input is only available for the cd/tape, so unfortunately seems like I am stuck here.

Sounds to me like the cable box is outputting a signal that the receiver can't decode and is just passing it to the tv which can decode the signal. I would suggest looking at audio output settings in the menu of the cable box and play with the different settings until you find one that the receiver will decode. If that don't work you may have to use the analog audio ports on the cable box to hook up the receiver. Hope this helps you.

I'll check to see if there are any sound options available on the cable box, but I highly doubt it.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users