Photo
- - - - -

Blu-ray Player with built in Wi-Fi ... best one for streaming?

• You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 of 10 Aurel Savin

Aurel Savin

Advanced Member

• PipPipPip
  • 841 posts

Posted March 04 2012 - 12:44 PM

I am looking into a Blu-Ray player with built in Wifi that will primarily be used for streaming Netflix and the like. Which one has the best selection of built in Apps as well as the most trouble free one from your experience on the market right now? Actual blu-ray disc watching will be secondary to this as I am completely new to it and honestly don't plan to buy much software save for some kids titles for my daughter. Thanks much for all the feedback ... it's a very wide sea to navigate without some expert help.

#2 of 10 Jim Mcc

Jim Mcc

Advanced Member

• PipPipPip
  • 3,710 posts
  • LocationOconomowoc, WI.

Posted March 04 2012 - 01:14 PM

I don't know if they're the best, but I love the Panasonic Blu-ray players. I just received my new Pan. BDT220 and it's an excellent player. It's got numerous apps, but the only one I use is Netflix. The DVD upscaling is also excellent. It outputs Netflix in 1080p, 5.1 surround sound, and also subtitles. These are all upgrades from my previous Pan. player. I paid $145 shipped from Amazon.

#3 of 10 Todd Erwin

Todd Erwin

Advanced Member

• 2,060 posts
  • LocationOrange County, CA

Posted March 04 2012 - 01:28 PM

The Sony BDP-S580 is another good choice. The main thing that is a pain is Sony's insistence in registering first on the Sony Network site to activate the apps. Other than that issue, it's a very solid machine.

#4 of 10 Aurel Savin

Aurel Savin

Advanced Member

• PipPipPip
  • 841 posts

Posted March 04 2012 - 02:07 PM