-

Jump to content



Photo
- - - - -

Random Stutter issue with Movie Playback - Please help!


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
12 replies to this topic

#1 of 13 OFFLINE   LordX

LordX

    Extra

  • 18 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 30 2009

Posted March 04 2012 - 07:13 AM

Hey guys - I have finally gotten my HTPC and Projector to play nice together - and I have movie playback at 99% perfect! It is that 1 little percent which is going to drive me bonkers. Steps already done: Verified FPS on video playback @ 23.976 Set Nvidia card output to 23Hz (which is 23.976 from what i have read) Turned off 'frame creation' on my Projector (Panasonic AE-4000U) These steps have literally eliminated panning judder - and I can enjoy my movies truly the way they were meant to be seen. However, randomly while watching - I get a stutter. Get this - it is usually during a SLOW scene in the movie - NOT an action intense sequence which I would expect. After all of my judder issues - I watch panning scenes and action scenes like a HAWK to make sure they are playing right - I never notice this random stutter during those scenes. My normal thinking would be that if I had a hardware deficiency - this would show during the intense scenes. My only other thought is that no movie plays at perfect FPS so after 10-15mins I will get this random stutter due to this fact. Anyone else have anything similar? Any ideas to try? I will not use ReClock because I output my digital audio to the receiver via spdif (optical)- and reclock doesn't like this and has to re-encode blah blah - I refuse to sacrifice audio quality. PS - System Specs: C2D 8400 CPU - (25-30% max usage during playback) 2GB DDR2 ram @ 1000mhz - only 200-300mb ram utilized during playback (and nothing else running on this system - dedicated HTPC) NVIDIA GTS 450 1GB Video card Sound Blaster X-Fi w/optical out Win 7 Home Premium 64bit

#2 of 13 OFFLINE   mattCR

mattCR

    Lead Actor

  • 9,998 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 05 2005
  • Real Name:Matt
  • LocationOverland Park, KS

Posted March 06 2012 - 03:43 PM

What decoder software are you using?


trakt.tv

Ask Me about HTPC! (Threads in HTPC / PMs always responded to)

This signature is povided by MediaBrowser 3 Trakt Plugin: Media Browser 3


#3 of 13 OFFLINE   LordX

LordX

    Extra

  • 18 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 30 2009

Posted March 06 2012 - 03:49 PM

MPC-HC latest - MadVR latest

#4 of 13 OFFLINE   mattCR

mattCR

    Lead Actor

  • 9,998 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 05 2005
  • Real Name:Matt
  • LocationOverland Park, KS

Posted March 08 2012 - 03:02 AM

And you're watching using MPC-HC or WMC, XBMC, etc?


trakt.tv

Ask Me about HTPC! (Threads in HTPC / PMs always responded to)

This signature is povided by MediaBrowser 3 Trakt Plugin: Media Browser 3


#5 of 13 OFFLINE   LordX

LordX

    Extra

  • 18 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 30 2009

Posted March 08 2012 - 04:30 AM

Watching using MPC-HC 1080p MKV Files Forgot to mention that I have ffdshow latest as well.

#6 of 13 OFFLINE   mattCR

mattCR

    Lead Actor

  • 9,998 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 05 2005
  • Real Name:Matt
  • LocationOverland Park, KS

Posted March 08 2012 - 11:40 AM

Are you using DXVA enabled or disabled?  Any post filters?


trakt.tv

Ask Me about HTPC! (Threads in HTPC / PMs always responded to)

This signature is povided by MediaBrowser 3 Trakt Plugin: Media Browser 3


#7 of 13 OFFLINE   LordX

LordX

    Extra

  • 18 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 30 2009

Posted March 08 2012 - 11:44 AM

I dont know if MadVR uses DXVA or not. And by post filters do you mean like LAV filters? I do not use LAV filters - but is there a reason I should?

#8 of 13 OFFLINE   mattCR

mattCR

    Lead Actor

  • 9,998 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 05 2005
  • Real Name:Matt
  • LocationOverland Park, KS

Posted March 09 2012 - 12:58 AM



Originally Posted by LordX 

I dont know if MadVR uses DXVA or not.
And by post filters do you mean like LAV filters? I do not use LAV filters - but is there a reason I should?



No, LAV is a different decoder.  My gut is to tell you to bump the ram.  It's very cheap.  And while you only see X% used during playback, it doesn't mean that it passes all the way through to a cache hit (disc transaction) that creates the stutter.   That's really my best guess, too many other variables in here, but a disc transaction would be amongst my most likely


trakt.tv

Ask Me about HTPC! (Threads in HTPC / PMs always responded to)

This signature is povided by MediaBrowser 3 Trakt Plugin: Media Browser 3


#9 of 13 OFFLINE   LordX

LordX

    Extra

  • 18 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 30 2009

Posted March 09 2012 - 01:15 AM

Someone else suggested I try increasing the priority of MPC-HC.exe in task manager. What do you think about that?

#10 of 13 OFFLINE   mattCR

mattCR

    Lead Actor

  • 9,998 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 05 2005
  • Real Name:Matt
  • LocationOverland Park, KS

Posted March 09 2012 - 06:31 AM



Originally Posted by LordX 

Someone else suggested I try increasing the priority of MPC-HC.exe in task manager. What do you think about that?



Impact should be minimal; increasing the task priority should not have any impact, as it won't really respond to priority management, it's already a threaded app


trakt.tv

Ask Me about HTPC! (Threads in HTPC / PMs always responded to)

This signature is povided by MediaBrowser 3 Trakt Plugin: Media Browser 3


#11 of 13 OFFLINE   LordX

LordX

    Extra

  • 18 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 30 2009

Posted March 09 2012 - 07:34 AM

Ok - so only suggestion would be to increase ram? not an issue - I already ordered it. My board does both DDR2 and DDR3 - so I bought an 8GB DDR3 kit.... So not only will I have more ram - it will be faster ram.

#12 of 13 OFFLINE   mattCR

mattCR

    Lead Actor

  • 9,998 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 05 2005
  • Real Name:Matt
  • LocationOverland Park, KS

Posted March 10 2012 - 04:01 AM

Smart move, and it's so damn  cheap now.   More ram means more buffers to it as opposed to reading from disc


trakt.tv

Ask Me about HTPC! (Threads in HTPC / PMs always responded to)

This signature is povided by MediaBrowser 3 Trakt Plugin: Media Browser 3


#13 of 13 OFFLINE   LordX

LordX

    Extra

  • 18 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 30 2009

Posted March 26 2012 - 04:26 AM

Seems like a HZ thing is causing the issue. I have my HTPC outputting at 23HZ (on nvidia cards that is supposed to be 23.976). It is really outputting at 23.9777xx So every 15 mins or so it has to 'catch up'. I custom set the refresh - and the closest I got was 23.974. IMO dropping a frame every now and then shouldn't glitch like having to 'catch up' does. So having a slightly lower refresh is better than a slightly higher. Any thoughts on this?