What's new

System Configuration Problems for better remote control operation - Help Needed! (1 Viewer)

Eric Peterson

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Eric Peterson
That's a fairly generic header, so I'll jump right in to specifics. I've had a fairly complex setup for years and have been using a Harmony remote for most of it with a great level of success. Last month, I upgraded my old Denon receiver to a Pioneer VSX-53, so that I could switch video via HDMI and stream audio from home network. The core of problem lies with the fact that I can now control the receiver from the Computer, Ipad, Iphone, etc....., so the Harmony remote easily gets out of sync with the system. I'm not sure what the best way is to rectify this problem. I'm looking in to the following, but I'm new with all of these technologies and am not sure if they will help or not. 1. Control via HDMI 2. 12V relay (Only a couple of components have this) 3. New remote brand/technology (I've really loved my Harmony though :( Here is a list of what I would like to control with as few remotes as possible as well as the Ipad, Iphone, etc.... 1. Panasonic Viera 58" Plasma TV 2. Pioneer VSX-53 3. Oppo Blu-Ray 4. Oppo DVD 5. DirecTV HD/DVR 6. Roku Box 7. Pioneer Laserdisc Any help would be greatly appreciated!!!

Eric Peterson

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Eric Peterson
The primary example is that I can power on the receiver from the computer/Ipad when I'm listening to music. Now if I decide to watch TV or a movie, my harmony thinks that the receiver is off and tries to turn it on, which ends with the receiver being off and all of the other components on. The receiver remote only has a power/toggle button. I supposed I can see if there is a command in the database specifically for "Power On". Any help is greatly appreciated.

Eric Peterson

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Eric Peterson