Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

System Configuration Problems for better remote control operation - Help Needed!


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
5 replies to this topic

#1 of 6 OFFLINE   Eric Peterson

Eric Peterson

    Screenwriter



  • 2,959 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 02 2001

Posted March 03 2012 - 05:01 AM

That's a fairly generic header, so I'll jump right in to specifics. I've had a fairly complex setup for years and have been using a Harmony remote for most of it with a great level of success. Last month, I upgraded my old Denon receiver to a Pioneer VSX-53, so that I could switch video via HDMI and stream audio from home network. The core of problem lies with the fact that I can now control the receiver from the Computer, Ipad, Iphone, etc....., so the Harmony remote easily gets out of sync with the system. I'm not sure what the best way is to rectify this problem. I'm looking in to the following, but I'm new with all of these technologies and am not sure if they will help or not. 1. Control via HDMI 2. 12V relay (Only a couple of components have this) 3. New remote brand/technology (I've really loved my Harmony though :( Here is a list of what I would like to control with as few remotes as possible as well as the Ipad, Iphone, etc.... 1. Panasonic Viera 58" Plasma TV 2. Pioneer VSX-53 3. Oppo Blu-Ray 4. Oppo DVD 5. DirecTV HD/DVR 6. Roku Box 7. Pioneer Laserdisc Any help would be greatly appreciated!!!

#2 of 6 ONLINE   Adam Gregorich

Adam Gregorich

    Executive Producer



  • 14,884 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 20 1999
  • LocationThe Other Washington

Posted March 03 2012 - 05:23 PM

Can you give me a basic example on how it gets out of sync?  It could be as simple as reworking your macros.



#3 of 6 OFFLINE   Eric Peterson

Eric Peterson

    Screenwriter



  • 2,959 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 02 2001

Posted March 04 2012 - 01:32 AM

The primary example is that I can power on the receiver from the computer/Ipad when I'm listening to music. Now if I decide to watch TV or a movie, my harmony thinks that the receiver is off and tries to turn it on, which ends with the receiver being off and all of the other components on. The receiver remote only has a power/toggle button. I supposed I can see if there is a command in the database specifically for "Power On". Any help is greatly appreciated.

#4 of 6 OFFLINE   Eric Peterson

Eric Peterson

    Screenwriter



  • 2,959 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 02 2001

Posted March 04 2012 - 02:18 AM

I just looked through all of the commands for the Pioneer receiver and could not find a specific "Power On" or "Power Off" Command. I find this strange since the Denon receiver that I'm replacing had this......and that this Pioneer is supposed to be in a higher class. I believe that it has something called "Standby Mode". Could playing with this be a solution?

#5 of 6 OFFLINE   Robert_J

Robert_J

    Lead Actor



  • 8,160 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 22 2000
  • Real Name:Robert
  • LocationMississippi

Posted March 04 2012 - 11:17 PM

I just looked through all of the commands for the Pioneer receiver and could not find a specific "Power On" or "Power Off" Command.

Pioneer uses the same command to toggle on/off. They have for years.

I find this strange since the Denon receiver that I'm replacing had this......and that this Pioneer is supposed to be in a higher class.

Has nothing to do with "class". It's a decision made by the designers. The only way I know to do this is to use an intermediate translator like the Ocelot. It would receive the power on/off command and check the status of the receiver and other equipment to determine if it let the signal pass. It's expensive and difficult to program but it will solve your issue.

#6 of 6 OFFLINE   Eric Peterson

Eric Peterson

    Screenwriter



  • 2,959 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 02 2001

Posted March 05 2012 - 01:28 AM

Has nothing to do with "class". It's a decision made by the designers. The only way I know to do this is to use an intermediate translator like the Ocelot. It would receive the power on/off command and check the status of the receiver and other equipment to determine if it let the signal pass. It's expensive and difficult to program but it will solve your issue.

Thanks for the input. I don't have the money or time to waste on a translator. If anything, I'll just have the Harmony treat the Receiver as though it's always on and toggle it's power independently. My other question still lies with control via HDMI. Does anybody know of a good guide? The manuals with both the TV and receiver are extremely vague and filled with technical jargon that I'm not familiar with. Through the reading that I've done thus far, it sound like I can have the receiver in a standby mode and when the TV is turned on, it will automatically wake up the receiver. I think that this could be a possible solution, but there are 3-4 setting per device and I'm not sure which setting to turn on and off. :confused: