Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Line conditioner to improve picture quality on a TV


  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 of 7 OFFLINE   raehza

raehza

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 109 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 29 2007

Posted February 17 2012 - 06:43 PM

I've read that they improve TV images. I have no idea which companies make then or what to look for in them or how much they go for. Any pointers in the right direction for me? Thanks, Ray

#2 of 7 OFFLINE   Robert_J

Robert_J

    Lead Actor



  • 8,193 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 22 2000
  • Real Name:Robert
  • LocationMississippi

Posted February 18 2012 - 10:28 AM

They only improve the image if you have dirty power. Have you checked your power? Some UPSs will interface with a computer and let you know if you are getting a true 120v, 60hz sine wave.

#3 of 7 OFFLINE   raehza

raehza

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 109 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 29 2007

Posted February 18 2012 - 12:36 PM

The house I live in is old and it has a terrible electrical system. How exactly can I check if I have "clean" power? Ray

#4 of 7 OFFLINE   Robert_J

Robert_J

    Lead Actor



  • 8,193 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 22 2000
  • Real Name:Robert
  • LocationMississippi

Posted February 18 2012 - 01:08 PM

Some computer UPS systems will tell you the quality of the power. Over or under voltage, square waves, noise, etc.

#5 of 7 OFFLINE   raehza

raehza

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 109 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 29 2007

Posted February 18 2012 - 02:22 PM

Sorry but what is a UPS system? PS = Power supply? Ray

#6 of 7 OFFLINE   Robert_J

Robert_J

    Lead Actor



  • 8,193 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 22 2000
  • Real Name:Robert
  • LocationMississippi

Posted February 18 2012 - 04:02 PM

Uninterruptible Power Supply - http://www.apc.com/p...egory.cfm?id=13 I have one on my desktop PC, one on my router and cable modem and one on each DVR in my theater. When the electricity goes out, I can keep my router and modem running for hours, my DVRs running for about 30 minutes and my PC up for about 10 minutes.

#7 of 7 OFFLINE   raehza

raehza

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 109 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 29 2007

Posted February 18 2012 - 04:22 PM

Thanks!




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users