Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.


Photo
- - - - -

Logitech Harmony Link Remote for the iPad, iPhone, iPod Touch and Android: REVIEWED

Hardware Review

  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
41 replies to this topic

#21 of 42 OFFLINE   Eric Samonte

Eric Samonte

    Screenwriter



  • 1,327 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 31 1999

Posted March 07 2012 - 04:08 AM

Ron, Haven't figured it out yet that much but like I want the tray to be opened after I hit watch a movie, etc. Also, I'd like to get particular buttons on a single page which i often use when watching, say...the cursor wheel, play, pause, eject, etc. Guess I can live with it so I might be keeping it.

#22 of 42 OFFLINE   WillG

WillG

    Producer



  • 5,237 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 30 2003

Posted March 28 2012 - 07:52 AM

Ron, Will the harmony link work with the PS3/XBOX for watching Blu-Rays/DVDs. You have suggested you can program macro functions that will power up Gaming Consoles. I use my PS3 as my Blu-Ray player, so this would be a big factor for deciding to buy.
STOP HIM! He's supposed to die!

#23 of 42 OFFLINE   Ronald Epstein

Ronald Epstein

    Studio Mogul



  • 42,337 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 03 1997

Posted March 28 2012 - 08:07 AM

Will,   I don't see why it would not work with your PS3.  The only thing I am uncertain of is whether you will get the standard PLAY, FF, RW, PAUSE, MENU buttons that you  would need to play Blu-rays.   My guess is....yes.

 

Ronald J Epstein
Home Theater Forum co-owner

 

 Click Here for the latest/hottest Blu-ray Preorders  Click Here for our complete Blu-ray review archive

 Click Here for our complete 3D Blu-ray review archive Click Here for our complete DVD review archive

 Click Here for Blu-Ray Preorder Release Schedule  Click Here for forum posting rules and regulations


#24 of 42 OFFLINE   DennisBassi

DennisBassi

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 132 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 20 2004
  • Real Name:Dennis
  • LocationPhoenix, Arizona

Posted March 29 2012 - 07:28 PM

Since your PS3 operates by bluetooth rather than ir, I believe you will have to purchase the Harmony PS3 controller as well, which will translate the ir commands from the Harmony Link to the Bluetooth commands the PS3 understands. I use the Harmony PS3 controller with my Harmony One.

#25 of 42 OFFLINE   TonyD

TonyD

    Who do we think I am?



  • 16,505 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 01 1999
  • Real Name:Tony D.
  • LocationDisney World and Universal Florida

Posted March 29 2012 - 07:39 PM

I agree with Dennis on that. Bw Amazon still has it for under $90 but ships in 1-3 months, yikes.
facebook.com/whotony

#26 of 42 OFFLINE   Todd Erwin

Todd Erwin

    Screenwriter



  • 2,387 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 16 2008
  • Real Name:Todd Erwin
  • LocationOrange County, CA

Posted May 07 2012 - 01:04 PM

I have a question - my client is considering purchasing one of these for each room. Would he have to login to a different Harmony account within the smartphone app based on what room he was in?

#27 of 42 OFFLINE   Ronald Epstein

Ronald Epstein

    Studio Mogul



  • 42,337 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 03 1997

Posted May 07 2012 - 02:19 PM

Todd,   I *believe* you can program up to 7 devices.   Therefor, you do not need to have multiple accounts.   Of course, if both rooms have components that exceed the amount that can be programmed, that is a problem. I do not know if you can sign into more than a single account with this app as you are automatically remembered every  time you visit.

 

Ronald J Epstein
Home Theater Forum co-owner

 

 Click Here for the latest/hottest Blu-ray Preorders  Click Here for our complete Blu-ray review archive

 Click Here for our complete 3D Blu-ray review archive Click Here for our complete DVD review archive

 Click Here for Blu-Ray Preorder Release Schedule  Click Here for forum posting rules and regulations


#28 of 42 OFFLINE   bigshot

bigshot

    Screenwriter



  • 1,459 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 30 2008

Posted May 07 2012 - 07:35 PM

I can control the stereo in the back of the house from the front usingthe wifi network, so the poster above is correct. If you have to have multiple accounts to cover everything, it isn't too bad because on the iphone app, there is a page called CONNECT that has a one button login to any other Harmony Link on the network.

#29 of 42 OFFLINE   pritchettl

pritchettl

    Auditioning



  • 2 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 19 2012

Posted June 19 2012 - 03:46 PM

Just purchased a harmony 1100 with rf extender. was able to understand the set up on the remote but some instruction for use the remote along with the rf extender is limited or not there. Can't get the rf extender to work with my direct tv hddvr. three of my devices are inside a cabinet and tv along with new bose sound bar are on the mantle . wanted to use one remote and control everything and keep cabinets closed while using. so far cannot get this all to work together and have requested a best buy tech (another 125.00) to come out and set it up for me. now i see the harmony link on the web which i did not see at the store. i have two ipads and three iphones in the house. my wife is concerned that if we are out and have our ipad & phones with us and my son wants to watch TV he will need one of the ipads or iphones. Can it work from an Ipod or other smart phone other than android? can you have the system operate from any ipad / iphone which you have downloaded the app. so if my older son comes over and we are out can he just use his iphone to operate the tv? trying to decide to take back the harmony 1100 and replace with the link system using my i pad products. so far have about 500 tied up in the 1100 and seems the link can be operational for 99.00! big difference.

#30 of 42 OFFLINE   Ronald Epstein

Ronald Epstein

    Studio Mogul



  • 42,337 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 03 1997

Posted June 19 2012 - 04:02 PM

Larry,   Think you will probably be better off with the Harmony Link.   I can't say for certain as I am only using mine with two devices (an iPhone and iPad), however it seems logical that you could install the app in as many Apple or Android devices as you need and operate your home theater as long as the username and password is tied to it.   Let us know what you do.

 

Ronald J Epstein
Home Theater Forum co-owner

 

 Click Here for the latest/hottest Blu-ray Preorders  Click Here for our complete Blu-ray review archive

 Click Here for our complete 3D Blu-ray review archive Click Here for our complete DVD review archive

 Click Here for Blu-Ray Preorder Release Schedule  Click Here for forum posting rules and regulations


#31 of 42 OFFLINE   pritchettl

pritchettl

    Auditioning



  • 2 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 19 2012

Posted June 19 2012 - 07:02 PM

Thanks, I assume the orginal remotes will still work for the devices should we have issues.

#32 of 42 OFFLINE   Todd Erwin

Todd Erwin

    Screenwriter



  • 2,387 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 16 2008
  • Real Name:Todd Erwin
  • LocationOrange County, CA

Posted June 20 2012 - 09:50 AM

Just installed one for a client last week, and it is working great so far. The parents like the fact that they can control all of the devices in the rec room on their iPad or iPhone from just outside the Master Bedroom for when the kids have the TV too loud or won't go to bed on time. 

#33 of 42 OFFLINE   Steve Tannehill

Steve Tannehill

    Producer



  • 5,550 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 06 1997
  • Real Name:Steve Tannehill
  • LocationDFW

Posted June 20 2012 - 10:13 AM

I can't put the Link unit on the table in front of the TV, lest I have stray power cables all over the floor. And it looks like I would have to rig multiple IR blasters to put the Link into my A/V cabinet. So for $25, I ordered a replacement battery and USB cable for my dead Harmony 890. I'll get it running again, and go the traditional universal remote route. Not as sexy as an iPad app, but certainly functional.

#34 of 42 OFFLINE   Todd Erwin

Todd Erwin

    Screenwriter



  • 2,387 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 16 2008
  • Real Name:Todd Erwin
  • LocationOrange County, CA

Posted June 22 2012 - 07:27 AM

I agree, that is the BIG limitation with the Link. My client originally asked to install it in the living room, and when I realized the wires issue, as well as the IR blaster likely not having a long enough cable to even reach the components in the closet, we decided it was better to place the Link in the rec room and use a 900 in the living room.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Tannehill /t/318471/logitech-harmony-link-remote-for-the-ipad-iphone-ipod-touch-and-android-reviewed/30#post_3940424 I can't put the Link unit on the table in front of the TV, lest I have stray power cables all over the floor. And it looks like I would have to rig multiple IR blasters to put the Link into my A/V cabinet. So for $25, I ordered a replacement battery and USB cable for my dead Harmony 890. I'll get it running again, and go the traditional universal remote route. Not as sexy as an iPad app, but certainly functional.


#35 of 42 OFFLINE   MarisAnder

MarisAnder

    Auditioning



  • 2 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 20 2012

Posted August 20 2012 - 09:37 PM

The iPhone cases we have, have a hole for the camera. How can we block out this area from the canvas? Otherwise someone may upload a ... white silicone iphone 4 case

#36 of 42 OFFLINE   JohnS

JohnS

    Producer



  • 4,633 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 17 2001
  • Real Name:John Steffens

Posted September 26 2012 - 09:18 PM

Having just bought an Ipad3, I will be buying this. Didn't even know it existed. Very cool.

all-banner.jpg


#37 of 42 OFFLINE   AMCarter3

AMCarter3

    Auditioning



  • 2 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 19 2013

Posted January 19 2013 - 03:03 AM

Ron, has Logitech done anything to improve the "Link" system since you posted your review on it in early 2012? I have a Harmony 900 that works very well. And I'm just now learning about the Link system and am quite interested. However, after reading reviews on various websites (Amazon included), it sounds like this device has a ways to go before it is going to replace the ease of use and functionality of a 900. I'm interested in hearing your thoughts about the Link now.

#38 of 42 OFFLINE   Ronald Epstein

Ronald Epstein

    Studio Mogul



  • 42,337 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 03 1997

Posted January 19 2013 - 03:34 AM

Hi Arthur!


Welcome to the forum.


Okay, this is where I am at with Harmony Link....


I don't use it anymore.  Reason being, I just don't use my iPad as much as I used to.  It's far easier for me to reach for a handheld remote (Logitech Harmony) than it is to boot up my iPad and go to the Harmony Link app.


So, it's not particularly a matter of not being satisfied with the performance of Logitech Link -- but the convenience of using it.


That being said....


If you were going to buy a Logitech Handheld remote, I would guess it will cost you between $200-$250.  The newest Handheld device Logitech has out is the Harmony Touch.

The Harmony Link is a much cheaper option.  If you have an iPad, you can have this universal remote control for under $80.  There is something to be said for that.


You can also install a free app on an iPhone or Android device which works with your Harmony Link.  The phone apps are not as elaborate software wise, but it's kind of cool that you can pull the phone out of your pocket and control all your devices with a few button clicks.


I am not certain how much more Logitech has advanced the software since the original review.  As I mentioned, I just haven't used it much since.  Originally, I was quite pleased with the interface --- particularly for the program guide that was included for free.

I will boot up my iPad and see if any updates have been done for the Harmony Touch iPad app and get back to you tomorrow.


Let me know if you have any additional questions in the meantime.   Keep in touch and let us know what you decided to purchase and how you like it.

 

Ronald J Epstein
Home Theater Forum co-owner

 

 Click Here for the latest/hottest Blu-ray Preorders  Click Here for our complete Blu-ray review archive

 Click Here for our complete 3D Blu-ray review archive Click Here for our complete DVD review archive

 Click Here for Blu-Ray Preorder Release Schedule  Click Here for forum posting rules and regulations


#39 of 42 OFFLINE   AMCarter3

AMCarter3

    Auditioning



  • 2 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 19 2013

Posted January 19 2013 - 10:58 AM

Thanks for responding, Ron. As I mentioned in my message, I already have a Harmony 900 and like it (a lot). I was curious about the Link system since we usually do have an iPad around in the TV room. I was trying to learn if it actually works better than the 900, or if the complaints about it crashing and being very slow to load cable TV listings (we use Comcast) were still common.

#40 of 42 OFFLINE   Ronald Epstein

Ronald Epstein

    Studio Mogul



  • 42,337 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 03 1997

Posted January 19 2013 - 11:42 AM

I am Sorry Arthur. I neglected to catch the fact that you already had a handheld Harmony remote. Personally, I think unless you have the money to burn then stay with what you already own as you will probably always grab that first.

 

Ronald J Epstein
Home Theater Forum co-owner

 

 Click Here for the latest/hottest Blu-ray Preorders  Click Here for our complete Blu-ray review archive

 Click Here for our complete 3D Blu-ray review archive Click Here for our complete DVD review archive

 Click Here for Blu-Ray Preorder Release Schedule  Click Here for forum posting rules and regulations






Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: Hardware Review

1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users