Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Sony Bravia TV & Sony Home Theater Audio Connections


  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 of 7 OFFLINE   conniebea

conniebea

    Auditioning



  • 3 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 04 2012

Posted February 04 2012 - 11:28 AM

I have a Sony Bravia and Sony Home Theater System with DVD. When I play a DVD the sound comes out of all 5 speakers. When I play the TV there is no sound from the speakers..just the TV Speaker. Do I need to connect audio cables from TV to home theater system? I was told I don't need audio cables because the HDMI Cable takes care of both the audio and video. The HDMI cable is connected to the home theater system and the hi def cable box. Any suggestions? Thanks.

#2 of 7 OFFLINE   gene c

gene c

    Producer



  • 5,736 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 05 2003
  • Real Name:Gene
  • LocationBay area, Ca

Posted February 04 2012 - 11:50 AM

First, go into the cable box's audio setup menu and make sure it's set to output digital audio through the hdmi connection. It might be set to analog audio output. Then make sure the hdmi input on the Sony dvd system has been assigned to whatever Input button you use on the Sony systems remote control. If those two things don't help then give us the model numbers of the tv and dvd system (and cable box if you can. That will help us a lot since all these things seem to operate a little differently.
"Everyday room": Panasonic 58" Plasma, Dish HD DVR, Pioneer Elite vsx-23, BDP-23 BR, dv58avi universal dvd player, Paradigm Studio 20 V1, CC-450, Dayton HSU-10 subwoofer.

"Movie/Music room": Toshiba 65" DLP, Dish HD receiver, Marantz 7005, CC-4003, BD-7006, Polk LSI25's-LSi7's-LSiC, 2 original Dayton 10" "Mighty-Mites" subwoofers. (subject to change without notice).
 
Also have  MB Quart Vera VS05 +.....too much to list. Help me.
 
 

 


#3 of 7 OFFLINE   conniebea

conniebea

    Auditioning



  • 3 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 04 2012

Posted February 04 2012 - 01:43 PM

Hi and thanks for your response. I can get t the set up menu on the cable box but it doesn't even give me an option output digital audio...only stereo option. My model numbers cable box hi def - cisco RNG150 DVD home theater system sony DAV HDX500 KDL-46XBR4

#4 of 7 OFFLINE   gene c

gene c

    Producer



  • 5,736 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 05 2003
  • Real Name:Gene
  • LocationBay area, Ca

Posted February 04 2012 - 02:07 PM

I found this on pg 12 of the cables boxs manual The HDMI interface automatically confi gures the audio output for a format supported by the television. Because not all TVs support the Dolby Digital input, the HDMI interface may automatically select a 2-channel stereo audio confi guration instead of Dolby Digital, which it carries over to the other digital audio outputs of the set-top. This prevents your home theater system or Dolby Digital decoder from providing the full Dolby Digital surround-sound effect. You can override this confi guration by completing the following steps. 1. Press SETTINGS twice on the remote control to open the General Settings menu. 2. Press MOVE UP or MOVE DOWN to select the option Audio: Digital Out. 3. Press MOVE RIGHT to select Dolby Digital. This setting will send Dolby Digital audio to the HDMI, DIGITAL AUDIO OUT, and OPTICAL AUDIO OUT connectors on the set-top. Notes: • If the TV is not Dolby Digital capable, it may not produce audio through its speakers when the Audio: Digital Out setting on the set-top is set to Dolby Digital. You can either switch the Audio: Digital Out setting back to HDMI when you are not using the home theater or Dolby Digital decoder, or you can connect the baseband audio outputs (OUT 1 Audio Left and Right) to the TV. • Digital content is encrypted with High-Bandwidth Content Protection (HDCP) on the DVI/HDMI port. This set-top is not compatible with devices that do not support HDCP. You must use either the YPbPr or 1394 connection to connect the set-top to these devices. See if you can perform steps 1,2 and 3. That may solve the problem. The cable box might be set to output stereo analog which isn't transfered via hdmi. If this doesn't work maybe we can think of something else.
"Everyday room": Panasonic 58" Plasma, Dish HD DVR, Pioneer Elite vsx-23, BDP-23 BR, dv58avi universal dvd player, Paradigm Studio 20 V1, CC-450, Dayton HSU-10 subwoofer.

"Movie/Music room": Toshiba 65" DLP, Dish HD receiver, Marantz 7005, CC-4003, BD-7006, Polk LSI25's-LSi7's-LSiC, 2 original Dayton 10" "Mighty-Mites" subwoofers. (subject to change without notice).
 
Also have  MB Quart Vera VS05 +.....too much to list. Help me.
 
 

 


#5 of 7 OFFLINE   conniebea

conniebea

    Auditioning



  • 3 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 04 2012

Posted November 03 2012 - 02:45 PM

I'm back to square one again - my speakers on home theater stopped working - I did what you said however there is not an option for changing the set top box audio to dolby digital just stereo so now what do I do. Should I attempt to hook up "rca" cables for audio output or is there another HD box that comcast can give me? thanks.

#6 of 7 OFFLINE   Khaled Reza

Khaled Reza

    Auditioning



  • 1 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 09 2013

Posted July 09 2013 - 10:35 AM

Hi,

I am in great trouble!!! I cannot connect my Sony Home theater to my Sony Bravia 46HX750. Home theater is DAV-TZ710. I want to use the home theater with the normal channels. I cannot hear any sound! Please tell me in easy way to setup my devices for the sound?

 

Thanks in advance....



#7 of 7 OFFLINE   iZ wonderboy

iZ wonderboy

    Auditioning



  • 4 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 18 2013
  • Real Name:Simon

Posted November 18 2013 - 09:38 AM

Hello

 

I have a Sony Bravia Tv, Model no: KDL - 42W805A

and also have a home theatre      : DAV - DZ660

 

I only just bought the home theatre, and I have problems connection it to the TV, channel wise.

I use a HDMI cable to connect the two devices but there seem to come no sound out of the speakers once I change to the tv channels. And yes, I can hear it if I just change it over to the HDMI input.

 

If anyone could help me, that would be appreciated!

 

 

 






1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users