What's new

Newb.. with IR/RF remote extenders please help!!! (1 Viewer)

louds

Auditioning
Real Name
chris j
Alright.. I am fairly new to this whole new IR/RF remote extenders and I have a few questions.. I recently just bought a new house, and in my bedroom I have my TV connected on the dresser with the cable box right next to it.. I wanna hide the cable box under the dresser so it is not seen but my remote will not work.. Is there a remote extender that is compatible with my box... I am also looking to go the very cheap route, no harmony remotes.
BOX: Scientific Atlantic HDTV Explorer 8240HDC
Time Warner Cable

Adam Gregorich

What to watch tonight?
Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Adam
Welcome to Home Theater Forum Chris. You can either go the Harmony (or similar) Universal Remote with RF support path, or if you want to use the existing remote you will need to get an IR extender http://www.amazon.com/Sewell-Infrared-Remote-Control-Repeater/dp/B004FJV8EE/ref=sr_1_cc_2?s=aps&ie=UTF8&qid=1326858147&sr=1-2-catcorr
The rectangle at the top gets placed where your existing remote can "see" it and is plugged into the box. One of the emitters on the right goes from that box and is "stuck" onto the front of the cable box where the IR receiver is allowing your existing remote to control the cable box. These systems run between $40 and $100. This one is $40.

louds

Auditioning
Real Name
chris j
Adam,
Thanks Much for your response. I do appreciate it.. I will look into this item, thing is I do not need all of these emitters. There is only one box and one remote there is no DVD player or anything like that. So would be there a cheaper route, or is this the best option.
I appreciate any input

Robert_J

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Robert
Go to "Fl"ebay and look at auction 320831449198. I've used that same model for my in-laws and a friend. Works great. Put the receiver on the dresser and the emitter under the dresser with the cable box.