Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Denon AVR3312CI vs Onkyo TXNR809 ??

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
10 replies to this topic

#1 of 11 OFFLINE   aselkapa

aselkapa

Auditioning

• 10 posts

Posted January 08 2012 - 12:31 AM

I am planning to buy a 7.2 channel receiver and was considering Denon AVR3312CI or Onkyo TXNR809. I am confused as to which one to purchase. Can you guys help me figure out? I am totally new to this AV receiver thing having always used HTib stuff Thanks in advance

#2 of 11 OFFLINE   Mr645

Mr645

Stunt Coordinator

• 213 posts
  • LocationBoca Raton, Florida

Posted January 08 2012 - 01:08 AM

I might lean toward the Marantz SR6006 at that price point. But look at features as well, make sure you get the features you will use and try not to pay for features you won't.

#3 of 11 OFFLINE   gene c

gene c

Producer

• 5,732 posts
  • LocationBay area, Ca

Posted January 08 2012 - 02:51 AM

What speakers are you using and what else will be hooked up to it? Do you need that Apple Air-Play thing? Do you need a smaller chassis? In addition to the Marantz 6006, have you considered the Yamaha RX-A1010 (or last years 2000) and the H/K 3650? If you have settled on the 809 or 3312 then down-load both manuals and give them a quick peek. Might be something in one of them that scares you. And buy from an authorized dealer to protect the warranty.
"Everyday room": Panasonic 58" Plasma, Dish HD DVR, Pioneer Elite vsx-23, BDP-23 BR, dv58avi universal dvd player, Paradigm Studio 20 V1, CC-450, Dayton HSU-10 subwoofer.

"Movie/Music room": Toshiba 65" DLP, Dish HD receiver, Marantz 7005, CC-4003, BD-7006, Polk LSI25's-LSi7's-LSiC, 2 original Dayton 10" "Mighty-Mites" subwoofers. (subject to change without notice).