What's new

Internet Speed (1 Viewer)

Scott McGillivray

Supporting Actor
Hi Gang! I just upgraded my home Internet connection to a mind-blowing 100Mbps down and 5Mbps up. That is just inconceivable to me. I am a computer network administrator, but speeds like this that are available to the normal home...stunning. When I got into computers MANY years ago, I was big man on campus for having a 1200baud modem (thats 1,200bps)...now I am at 100,000,000bps. Insane. It seems not very long ago that a corporate network running at 10Mbps on hubs, not switches, was considered to be just excellent. I ran a few tests at speedtest.net and was able to get very close to advertised speeds. What kind of speeds are others getting?

DaveF

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Dave
And that's priced for residential?!? I'm jealous. I get about 1/5 that. Download I don't care. 20 Mbps down is fine. But upload I'd love to have much faster to support full online backups.

Edwin-S

Premium
Senior HTF Member
100 Mbps service is not available in Northern BC yet; although, the 50 Mbps service is available. I have been tempted to switch from TELUS's ADSL service to SHAW, but I still don't really like the shared loop principle that cable internet relies on; however, the fastest available speed on the TELUS network is 25 Mbps and (I believe) it would require installation of fibre optic cable. It's a conumdrum, I think that TELUS sucks but I don't really care much for SHAW either. Although, SHAW is sure trying hard to get people to switch to their services. It feels like I get a piece of junk mail from them every couple of days.

John Dirk

Premium
Ambassador
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
JOHN