What's new

Trying to set up a 5.1, incompatible cables (1 Viewer)

applepi

Auditioning
Real Name
chris
Hello all! (I'm fairly new at this, so bear with me..) Okay, so I've got: - a Blu-Ray/DVD player with a dolby digital coax out and a component A/V out - a set of 5.1 speakers that expect a DVD player with 6 line out audio jacks to be hooked up to three Y cables and fed into three audio jacks (one for FL/R, one for surround L/R, and one for center/sub) Currently I have it hooked up using just the component A/V out going to the FL/R jack. (These speakers were given to me by someone that wasn't using them..) Question 1: Is there any way to split the digital out coax without a receiver? Question 2: If not (and possibly even if so), I'm looking to either replace the speakers or add a receiver. I'd *prefer* to stay simple and be able to just run the digital coax into the sub and split it from there, but I could live with a receiver. But when I look at receivers online, they all have a specific jack for the sub (I've read a bit about "subwoofer cable..?") This doesn't sound like it would be compatbile with the speakers I have.. if I add a receiver would I have to totally replace the speakers as well? Thanks for (trying at least) to point me in the right direction :P

gene c

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Gene
Sounds like you either have self-powered speakers or speakers that came in a home-theater package or home theater-in-a-box. In any event, you need something in between the dvd player and speakers. Either a receiver to power the speakers or a pre-amp processor if the speakers are self-powered. Can you post pictures of the back of the speakers or at least give us a manufacture and model number?

Al.Anderson

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Al