Jump to content



Photo
- - - - -

Can't get surround sound system to work on tv channels


  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
85 replies to this topic

#81 of 86 Jason Charlton

Jason Charlton

    Advanced Member

  • 2,696 posts
  • Join Date: May 16 2002
  • Real Name:Jason Charlton
  • LocationBaltimore, MD

Posted October 12 2013 - 05:39 AM

The only way to achieve what you want to do is to run a separate audio connection from the Sky box to the Phillips.  The Phillips has a digital optical audio input, so if your Sky box has a digital optical output, then all you need is a Toslink optical cable. These can be found virtually anywhere.

 

You can't run the audio from your Sky box through the TV (via HDMI) and get any sort of surround audio to your Phillips. All TVs downmix digital surround audio to simple stereo.

 

You should also disable your TVs speakers (read your TV manual to see how to do this) so that you don't get sound from both the Phillips and the TV at the same time.

 

Remember, that with separate connections for audio and video, to watch Sky and hear it through the Phillips, you'll need to change inputs on the TV (for video) and the Phillips (for audio).


  • sandpit007in likes this

Are you new to the Home Theater Forum? Stop by the New Member Introductions area and introduce yourself! See you there!


#82 of 86 sandpit007in

sandpit007in

    Newbie

  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 12 2013
  • Real Name:Sandeep

Posted October 12 2013 - 06:32 AM

I do not have digital Optical output on my SKY HD box, I just want to know the way to connect it, could you please explain it to me by using the ARROW to understand it, I have normal audio out that is [red, yellow, white] ports from my HD box, so if I understood you correctly then, may I connect the HD box to TV by HDMI and the HD box audio ports to my Philips, and that way I will get both the video and audio, isn't it? Also currently my SKY box is connected to my LED via HDMI where am getting audio & video from ly LED, but the audio is not good for watching HD channels! Please let me know my my understanding's are in a right direction, with your guidance! You have been so helpful for me here!



#83 of 86 schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert

  • 11,967 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted October 12 2013 - 06:56 AM

Granted you aren't in the US, but...

 

I've never seen a HD STB without a digtal audio output separate from the HDMI. If it isn't optical, it is digital coax. You have one or there is no way, at all, with that HTiB to get 5.1 from your TV stations.

 

If there is no digital output, you'll have to use the red-white audio output of the HD STB and connect it to the HTiB and hope it has DPL.



#84 of 86 sandpit007in

sandpit007in

    Newbie

  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 12 2013
  • Real Name:Sandeep

Posted October 12 2013 - 09:47 AM

hi Sam, am located in India, and here the latest SKY HD box we have that amazingly does not have any digital output into it, rather its just a basic color cable output, and that I noticed today only as I was also not aware of it, otherwise I never opt for SKY HD, anyways, I understood that work around for me at this moment is just the HDMI for video and color cable for the audio from my Philips, you explained things very clear and I really thankful to you, I will switch my HD service provider by next month, with the better connectivity digital set top box, that the only way to get this things fixed! :)

 



#85 of 86 prk13

prk13

    Newbie

  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 14 2013
  • Real Name:Prokopis

Posted October 14 2013 - 01:11 PM

I have a samsung 6500 led tv and I am trying to connect it with a pioneer home theater xv-bd422b. I used the hdmi cable in order watch bluray disk from pioneer to tv but I also want to hear also the tv channels from the tv to home theater speakers. I used an optical cable to link the tv (in the optical output) with the home theater (in the optical input) plus the hdmi cable already connected but nothing happened. Please advise if there is a way to hear my tv channels from the home theater speakers?
For your information the digital receiver is bultin in the tv.
Also I want to play movies mkv files from usb , the pionner cannot read from the srt file the greek characters , I tried utf-8 and unicode with no success. Do you have any ideas how i can make this work?

Edited by prk13, October 14 2013 - 01:15 PM.


#86 of 86 schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert

  • 11,967 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted October 14 2013 - 03:12 PM

You probably (in the TV) need to turn on the audio output, then set it for DD. Samsung online manuals aren't much help.






2 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users