Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests to win things like this Logitech Harmony Ultimate Remote and you won't get the popup ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

OTA HD on my Westinghouse LCD

• You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 of 6 exiledgator

exiledgator

Auditioning

• 3 posts

Posted April 26 2011 - 02:22 AM

nOOb here. I did look for the answer to this in the forums but didn't find it.

So, I have a Westinghouse TX-47F430S that I bought in 2007. I recently bought an HD antenna to pick up some OTA stations (we don't have cable or satellite.) I've been to AntennaWeb and it tells me that I have a 8 stations within 30 miles, 5 of those are within 20 miles, and 3 of those are within 10 miles. With the antenna outside, I get no reception. Not even a blip.

What am I doing wrong? I'm pretty sure my TV has a tuner (there is coax input that's labeled "TV" on the input menu). Is that tuner not an HD Tuner (If there is such a difference)? Do I need an HD Tuner, an HD Converter box, a new antenna, a new TV or House ;) ?

Thanks in advance for any advice!

#2 of 6 CB750

CB750

Screenwriter

• 1,035 posts

Posted April 26 2011 - 04:29 AM

How were you using your 2007 purchased TV before you decided to go with OTA?  Generally toady's sets require that change the TV's input settings when you change input sources.   In addition when you use the TV's internal tuner you may have to run a station detect set routine to assign the proper channel to the tuner.

#3 of 6 Al.Anderson

Al.Anderson

Screenwriter

• 2,118 posts

Posted April 26 2011 - 04:32 AM

I couldn't find a user manual, but it appears that that TV doesn't have an ATSC tuner (digital).  Check your manual for ATSC vs NTSC.  If that's the case you'll need a digital converter box.

#4 of 6 exiledgator

exiledgator

Auditioning

• 3 posts