Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Optavision HDMI 80


  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
41 replies to this topic

#21 of 42 OFFLINE   stevenc32

stevenc32

    Auditioning



  • 2 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 30 2011

Posted September 30 2011 - 09:26 PM

i dont know about u guys that is having a hard time with your optavision but i just got one yesterday and it works great and i love it!

#22 of 42 OFFLINE   stevenc32

stevenc32

    Auditioning



  • 2 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 30 2011

Posted September 30 2011 - 09:40 PM

man u must dont know what u are doing because mine works fine.

#23 of 42 OFFLINE   Jim Mcc

Jim Mcc

    Producer



  • 3,710 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 11 2004
  • Real Name:Jim
  • LocationOconomowoc, WI.

Posted October 01 2011 - 05:20 AM

You posted twice within 14 minutes, so yes we now know your's works fine.

#24 of 42 OFFLINE   mbm50

mbm50

    Auditioning



  • 1 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 03 2011

Posted November 03 2011 - 02:43 PM

What is the throw distance on this device. How far can I project the image from? I'm considering buying one for the church

#25 of 42 OFFLINE   sthomp04

sthomp04

    Auditioning



  • 1 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 09 2011

Posted November 09 2011 - 08:00 AM

Jim, you seem knowledgeable. I'm totally new to the projectors. I'd like to pay $400.00 or less if that's even possible. I'm wanting it for gaming and the occasional movie. What do you suggest I look for (Make/Model)? What gotcha's should I look out for buying used?

#26 of 42 OFFLINE   Jim Mcc

Jim Mcc

    Producer



  • 3,710 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 11 2004
  • Real Name:Jim
  • LocationOconomowoc, WI.

Posted November 09 2011 - 02:16 PM

My suggestion is to save more money. $600 or less will buy a new 720p projector, such as the Optoma HD66 or Acer 5360. I would never consider a used projector(even if an old lady says she only used it to watch mass on Sundays).

#27 of 42 OFFLINE   Davevc1970

Davevc1970

    Auditioning



  • 1 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 14 2011

Posted December 14 2011 - 10:38 AM

I bought an hd9500 last night under a similar high pressure sales approach. I got the screen mount and projector for 300. The one guy told me they got it free and two minutes later the other guy said they were losing 50 bucks on the deal. Geez scammers get you're story straight BEFORE you stalk your victims. The image is pretty crappy on tv 720p and the only acceptable image for pc is 800x600. I will likely only want to use it for parties and such when there's going to be a lot of noise anyway so the fans won't bother people. That said if it works for a while it would probably be decent for a dive sports or karaoke bar...IF. There is zero support for the product. I wouldn't recommend the product, and the main reason is the noise and that brings me to my question. The lit on it says 22db quiet operation in ECO mode. I can't figure out how to activate this Eco mode so thing is loud as hell. Anyone able to figure out how to put it in "ECO" mode? Thanks for any help.

#28 of 42 OFFLINE   jDD918

jDD918

    Auditioning



  • 1 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 26 2011

Posted December 26 2011 - 03:36 PM

I was recently scammed by a guy who said his dad owns a Home Theater company called R&B Studio Design located at 4201 NW 3rd St. Oklahoma City, OK (fake address after researching) and had picked up 4 Home Theater systems from a contractor that had gone bankrupt. The only reason I fell for it was because my boss called me and told me I should jump on this amazing $8,000 dollar system for only $500. I showed up and this guy's name was Brant Ray Holloway. He says he is from Mooreland, OK and now lives in Edmond, OK. He was driving a black Yukon Denali and had the systems in the back of his car in the bank parking lot. You can find his mugshot at mugshots.com and typing in his name Brant Ray Holloway. Also, if you google his name you will find it on Ripoffreport.com and find out he has been scamming people for many years. What a POS. Anyways, after much research including this forum, the system he sold me is complete BS....I checked to see if the projector works and it does, but it's not a high quality projector. It came with 3D paper glasses.....paper!! For $500 I got the projector, 80" screen, and a surround sound speaker system called ICinema. i'm scared to even try the speakers. There are no serial numbers anywhere on anything. Optavision3d.com is a BS website too. The only way you can contact them is by email....no phone numbers. At first glanse at the site, it looks legit....but only a couple minutes into it and you can tell it was set up only to provide a little support and proof that the product is real.....a real lie. Can you tell I'm upset yet? Also, check out Volk projectors....you will see the exact same projector, with the exact same box! The same box!! This was the previous name used a few years ago. The projector does work, but I only bought it because I was under the impression that this was an amazing deal and could flip it quickly. I will sell it all now for $400 and take a 100 loss.

#29 of 42 OFFLINE   kotader

kotader

    Auditioning



  • 1 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 23 2012

Posted January 23 2012 - 08:07 AM

I see where you say you have no pixelation or jitters. I have hooked up this projector with an HDMI cable and still get large pixels and blurry lines. Any suggestions on any settings I may be missing? I know the DIRECTV box is set on native and 1080p. Any help would be appreciated as I no longer know what to do. Static pictures are great but motion is blurry. Thanks.

#30 of 42 OFFLINE   Jim Mcc

Jim Mcc

    Producer



  • 3,710 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 11 2004
  • Real Name:Jim
  • LocationOconomowoc, WI.

Posted January 23 2012 - 08:12 AM

Try setting the Directv box to 720p or 1080i.

#31 of 42 OFFLINE   jay montanez

jay montanez

    Auditioning



  • 1 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 06 2012

Posted March 06 2012 - 08:43 AM

i just got a HDMI 80 and as soon as i pluged it my light went out on it and i replace the bulb and it burned out to i was gotten to for $300.00 where can i order the light for this peace of @#$$

#32 of 42 OFFLINE   Jim Mcc

Jim Mcc

    Producer



  • 3,710 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 11 2004
  • Real Name:Jim
  • LocationOconomowoc, WI.

Posted March 06 2012 - 11:05 AM

Why would you want to put more money into that piece of crap? Sorry, but people are warned constantly on all the A/V forums not to buy these pieces of crap, but they still do. :confused:

#33 of 42 OFFLINE   dazael2611

dazael2611

    Auditioning



  • 1 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 19 2012

Posted March 19 2012 - 02:20 PM

hey dude were you found the lampp cause im need one a

#34 of 42 OFFLINE   mrklh

mrklh

    Auditioning



  • 1 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 04 2012

Posted April 04 2012 - 06:11 AM

Brant Ray is up to his old tricks. He's still hanging out at the bank and telling the same story about his dad's home theater company that is repossessing these theater systems from a builder who went out of business. A friend of mine ran into him and thought of me when he was approached by Brant with this amazing deal. So, he called and gave me his phone number. Brant was kind enough to come right over to my home w/ the equipment to show me. Luckily, I typed in a quick google search on his "company" and found this post in this forum. Needless to say, I passed on this deal that was indeed too good to be true. He is still driving a 2004 black Denali. It's a shame. He seems like a nice dude that could be utilizing his talents elsewhere. Thanks for posting your story and providing me the tool to avoid the scam.

#35 of 42 OFFLINE   jharrisonmfsr

jharrisonmfsr

    Auditioning



  • 7 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 30 2012

Posted April 04 2012 - 08:54 AM

Agreed! there are so many other options it seem weird to even try a product with such poor reviews.

#36 of 42 OFFLINE   Jim Mcc

Jim Mcc

    Producer



  • 3,710 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 11 2004
  • Real Name:Jim
  • LocationOconomowoc, WI.

Posted April 04 2012 - 09:26 AM

Ignorance? Stupidity? I can't figure it out

#37 of 42 OFFLINE   areol-green

areol-green

    Auditioning



  • 1 posts
  • Join Date: May 21 2012

Posted May 21 2012 - 07:25 AM

I have read all the previous posts and I am TOTALLY NEW to this. I bought a Optoma Pro160S and an "acquaintance" is telling me to return it and go with the Optavision HDMI-80 1080P LCD projector. I just want it to play movies, videos, slideshows for large groups. I wouldn't be using it daily. The Optavision comes with a replacement bulb, 80" screen...all for $350 (not at a retail store-he said retail I would be paying about $700-$800 for the package). I paid $499 for my Optoma at Best Buy. The other thing is the Optoma is for "business" use and the Optavision is a home theatre-what is the main difference there???? :confused:

#38 of 42 OFFLINE   Jim Mcc

Jim Mcc

    Producer



  • 3,710 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 11 2004
  • Real Name:Jim
  • LocationOconomowoc, WI.

Posted May 21 2012 - 11:36 AM

The first thing you need to do is go up to your "acquaintance" and slap him silly. With acquaintances like that, you do not need enemies. DO NOT buy the Optavision projector. It is a piece of crap. And no, it's not even worth $350. The Pro 160s is a projector designed for business use, not for movies. It also has an aspect ratio of 4:3, not 16:9(widescreen). Tell us exactly what you will be doing with the projector, and maybe we can find you an even better projector for the same or less money.

#39 of 42 OFFLINE   Damon Harris

Damon Harris

    Auditioning



  • 1 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 28 2012

Posted November 28 2012 - 03:58 PM

Go to the PS3 settings and activate HDMI in video settings but once you do it won't show in other formats. so if you don't have it hooked to HDMI already set it up on your tv.first then go to the menu put it on HDMI first then hook up your projector to your PS3 then it should recognize the HDMI signal .

#40 of 42 OFFLINE   Jim Mcc

Jim Mcc

    Producer



  • 3,710 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 11 2004
  • Real Name:Jim
  • LocationOconomowoc, WI.

Posted January 31 2013 - 11:47 AM

Sam already answered you in the 2 other threads. You got taken.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users