What's new

Blue Ray vs DVD... what is the difference? Seriously? (1 Viewer)

JoeCool6972

Stunt Coordinator
Real Name
Joe Turner
Figured I would put this in the "beginners" section since I am new to HD as of October when I switched from a 31" square picture tube to a flat panel. And so no one would scold or flame me in the blue ray area! Blue Ray vs DVD... what is the difference? What am I supposed to be seeing? Because I see no difference whatsoever. I have a 42" Samsung plasma TV and a PlayStation 3 I am watching Blue ray and DVD on using HDMI direct from TV to PS3 with component cables for audio to the receiver. Also a Zenith combo DVD/VCR. Now I can tell a difference between VHS and DVD on my flat panel, and a slight difference in the two players with DVD. But I blame that on the composite RCA cable hookup. I am watching movies from around 10 feet away. Is this a difference only seen up close? Do I need new glasses? Because the only difference I see is price! :P Seriously, what IS THE DIFFERENCE? :confused:

mattCR

Reviewer
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Matt