Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

The CETON Digital Cable Quad Tuner PC Card and why you should seriously consider it


  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
91 replies to this topic

#81 of 92 OFFLINE   mattCR

mattCR

    Executive Producer



  • 10,048 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 05 2005
  • Real Name:Matt
  • LocationOverland Park, KS

Posted May 13 2013 - 06:58 AM

Sam, I just deployed the CETON USB somewhere; it is surprisingly effective and the driver base is pretty good.   I'm impressed so far.


trakt.tv

Ask Me about HTPC! (Threads in HTPC / PMs always responded to)

This signature is povided by MediaBrowser 3 Trakt Plugin: Media Browser 3


#82 of 92 OFFLINE   Sam Posten

Sam Posten

    Moderator



  • 17,068 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 30 1997
  • Real Name:Sam Posten
  • LocationAberdeen, MD & Navesink, NJ

Posted May 13 2013 - 07:10 AM

Cool, good to know!


I lost my signature and all I got was this Nutter t-shirt


#83 of 92 OFFLINE   michaeltrottar

michaeltrottar

    Agent



  • 47 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 21 2013

Posted December 02 2013 - 12:13 AM

I use wired lan throughout our house, and supporting a selection via WiFi would be more challenging but not challenging. I know several who use HPN with very outstanding outcomes.



#84 of 92 OFFLINE   Adam Gregorich

Adam Gregorich

    Executive Producer



  • 14,916 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 20 1999
  • LocationThe Other Washington

Posted December 02 2013 - 12:22 AM

I just ordered the 4 tuner USB Ceton.  I'll be replacing 4 ATI tuners.  The maze of cabling looked like a birds nest, and I want to rack mount the PC.  Looking forward to it arriving.  I just picked up two of their extenders on Black Friday, so it will be a Ceton Christmas!



#85 of 92 OFFLINE   mattCR

mattCR

    Executive Producer



  • 10,048 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 05 2005
  • Real Name:Matt
  • LocationOverland Park, KS

Posted December 02 2013 - 08:51 PM

Go through all the updates on the extenders.  1st Gen firmware on the echo is a real mixed bag, but as time went on, the thing became pretty sturdy


trakt.tv

Ask Me about HTPC! (Threads in HTPC / PMs always responded to)

This signature is povided by MediaBrowser 3 Trakt Plugin: Media Browser 3


#86 of 92 OFFLINE   michaeltrottar

michaeltrottar

    Agent



  • 47 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 21 2013

Posted December 04 2013 - 12:42 AM

Discuss to your operator or company. You're Cable CARD probably isn't verifying properly. Also, examine your anti-virus application. When I had McAfee set up, the Ceton cards provided me actual issues. Since I thrown out it for Avast, everything's been driving.



#87 of 92 OFFLINE   Sam Posten

Sam Posten

    Moderator



  • 17,068 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 30 1997
  • Real Name:Sam Posten
  • LocationAberdeen, MD & Navesink, NJ

Posted February 24 2014 - 06:06 AM

It seems like the macroblocking on mine is getting worse, it's almost unwatchable.  Is there a way to take a screenshot in MCE to show you?


I lost my signature and all I got was this Nutter t-shirt


#88 of 92 OFFLINE   mattCR

mattCR

    Executive Producer



  • 10,048 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 05 2005
  • Real Name:Matt
  • LocationOverland Park, KS

Posted February 24 2014 - 02:57 PM

Because all cable cards use HDCP, you'd have to use an external HDMI capture device to do it.  If you're getting a lot of blocking, something is wrong.   Which model are you using Sam?


trakt.tv

Ask Me about HTPC! (Threads in HTPC / PMs always responded to)

This signature is povided by MediaBrowser 3 Trakt Plugin: Media Browser 3


#89 of 92 OFFLINE   Sam Posten

Sam Posten

    Moderator



  • 17,068 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 30 1997
  • Real Name:Sam Posten
  • LocationAberdeen, MD & Navesink, NJ

Posted February 24 2014 - 06:05 PM

the 6 tuner USB.

I lost my signature and all I got was this Nutter t-shirt


#90 of 92 OFFLINE   mattCR

mattCR

    Executive Producer



  • 10,048 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 05 2005
  • Real Name:Matt
  • LocationOverland Park, KS

Posted February 27 2014 - 09:45 AM

Ah.  Sam, here's a suggestion I've had others run into.. what system are you using the USB tuner on?  Make sure it's the only USB device on a USB HA.   Remember, USB bandwidth is shared, and the Ceton will milk every damn drop of it ;)


trakt.tv

Ask Me about HTPC! (Threads in HTPC / PMs always responded to)

This signature is povided by MediaBrowser 3 Trakt Plugin: Media Browser 3


#91 of 92 OFFLINE   Sam Posten

Sam Posten

    Moderator



  • 17,068 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 30 1997
  • Real Name:Sam Posten
  • LocationAberdeen, MD & Navesink, NJ

Posted February 27 2014 - 11:15 AM

I'm sorry, I meant ethernet, not USB:
http://cetoncorp.com...itv-6-ethernet/

It's running pure Gig-E from this device to my PC.

I lost my signature and all I got was this Nutter t-shirt


#92 of 92 OFFLINE   mattCR

mattCR

    Executive Producer



  • 10,048 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 05 2005
  • Real Name:Matt
  • LocationOverland Park, KS

Posted February 28 2014 - 03:11 PM

You might call Ceton.   There are some they had issues that got too hot.. some users ended up putting a small fan or open grate by them, this was changed in later revisions.


trakt.tv

Ask Me about HTPC! (Threads in HTPC / PMs always responded to)

This signature is povided by MediaBrowser 3 Trakt Plugin: Media Browser 3





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users